West Australia and family matters.

Well what a nice surprise. I got in to OD with no problems. How long has it been working again?lol I must say I had resigned myself to the fact it would give up the ghost, but am glad it’s still going.
We had a wonderful week in West Australia with Melissa and Evan. Lovely weather, although being on the coast it was quite windy. But sunny and warm all the same.
We only spent a couple of days in Fremantle and Perth. The rest of the time we spent in Margaret River and Augusta. Right down the south west of Australia. It was nice to be all 4 of us together as a family.
The days were spent sightseeing and in the evenings we played cards. The cards are a ritual now. Melissa and Evan taught us a card game called ‘asshole’ when we visited them in Scotland in 2008. The object is to make sure you’re not the person left with the last card. And of course, it delighted them that their dad was left with the last card in our final game. He had to wait 2+ plus years for revenge, but unfortunately he lost again. So it’s now a game they insist on playing. I have no idea who lost this time though. And it doesn’t matter anyway. The enjoyment was the main thing.
I only have 1 photo though, as Melissa took them on her camera and hasn’t had time to post them to Facebook. She’s on summer break from Uni but is working as a house cleaner and getting plenty of work. Why didn’t she clean her bedroom when she lived at home, that’s what I want to know!
This was taken while we waited for the bus opposite her house. Her friend came home and said it would make a great photo. She was right. She said we looked like an album cover for a rock group!
photobucket

My brother Ian has gone in to full time care. I’m going to Melbourne next week but not too sure if I will visit him, as he may still be settling in. I did think I may do a music cd for him, of songs/music that mean something to him. I’ll have to wait and see what his wife says though.
My other brother Drew, has had drama in his life too. His daughter’s partner has been taking drugs (ice) and assaulted her quite severely. He was in jail for a week, but is now out and his wife and family are in a refuge miles away the other side of Melbourne. I want to know why they have to flee and he is allowed out! He trashed the house, put holes in the wall. I can’t imagine what they have had to deal with. And they are the ones who have to flee, disrupting the kids schooling apart from anything else.
This is a man in his 30s. Why would he start taking drugs? Apparently the ICE epidemic in Melbourne in really bad.
I can’t believe it’s nearly Christmas. Another year nearly finished. Melissa and I have our trip to Thailand planned for late January, but there’s a lot of fighting in some parts, so we’re not too sure what will happen. Just have to wait and see nearer the date.
I had to have an ultrasound on my thyroid before we went to WA. About 20 years ago I had a benign tumour in my thyroid and half of the thyroid was removed. The same symptoms appeared again (hard to swallow on occasions) and I was worried. However it appears to be fine, and may actually be a side effect of new medication I am on. As long as it doesn’t get any worse. It’s not the nicest feeling to try and swallow and it doesn’t work. My doctor wasn’t going to do anything about tests, as she gave me a good examination, but I asked for the scan, just to be sure. It put my mind at rest to know things are ok.
Well that’s it for tonight. I’m having an early night as I have been under the weather all week. Not unwell but not 100% either. Probably because of the atrocious weather. 37c one day with air conditioners on. The next is 12c with heating on. I’ve never had a gas heating bill at this time of the year before. Weird weather all over. Mother nature is telling us something I think.

Bye…………

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2013

Jealous of your heat. I like that photo! Ice isn’t very common here yet. A lot of people start to take drugs to make them feel better because they have mental health problems.

It is a good picture. And certainly glad the thyroid was okay.

Best wishes re the thyroid. What an awful catastrophe it must be to suddenly have an ICE problem in the family! I’d imagine they have to move because it would just be an ongoing ordeal if he knew where they were. It’s deadful stuff, I belive. I’ve heard Margaret River/Augusta are lovely, though very touristy. What did you think of the area?

December 21, 2013

Definitely an album cover shot! Ice use is pretty big around here too. Nasty stuff.