If you read this, I’m still here!

Finally managed to get in and write. I’ve enjoyed being on OD over the years, but wonder how long the site may last. I joined Prosebox just in case OD folds, and have the same diary name, but have done no entries there.
In 3 weeks we’re off to Perth in West Australia to visit Melissa. She has finished uni for the year, although her exams start next week.
Husband and I have never been to Perth. I think it’s a 4 hour flight over there. Evan is coming too so it’s a family get-together before Christmas. We haven’t seen many Christmases together since Melissa and Evan started backpacking, and it’s a busy time of year at work for me anyway. I rarely manage to get to Melbourne and see my brothers and their children for either Christmas or New Year.
I never imagined I would still be working at 65, but have to say I enjoy it, it’s not hard work by any means and makes up for husband being forced to retire when he intended to keep working for a few more years. He injured himself at work, and after 2 years, got booted out the door, quite literally, 5 minutes before his shift ended. So much for loyalty to staff. And me working enables us to travel.
In late January, Melissa and I are going to Thailand for 2 weeks. Husband has never wanted to go there, but it’s a place I’ve always wanted to see. Not just Bangkok though. So Melissa is planning what we’re going to do. She asked me where I wanted to go, but I told her to just go ahead and visit places she missed out on last time, as anywhere would do me. Husband is planning on doing something with Evan while we’re in Thailand, but that depends on Evan’s work schedule.
The weather has been weird in Australia. Terrible fires in Sydney after some extremely hot weather, then suddenly they got hail and rain. Melbourne has some terrible weather too with wild storms and floods. Our area didn’t escape either. It rained so heavy one day that the water just poured over the roof guttering and flooded the patio. The dogs’ kennel was surrounded and they were looking out wondering what was going on. But the patio floor got a good wash down.
I can’t believe today is November 1st. The year has just flown past and I’m not too appreciative of that fact. It needs to slow down a bit! It seems only yesterday that Melissa and Evan were just toddlers, now Evan is nearly 26.
I don’t know how my brother Ian is doing in his dementia battle. I messaged his wife, but she hasn’t answered me back. She was always a bit standoffish so I decided I would wait for her to get back in touch.
Failing that, if I get to Melbourne soon, I will visit them to see how he’s doing.
OK I will save this entry before I try posting it. And hope I can read some of my favs too.

Bye………..

Log in to write a note
November 2, 2013

I think the older you get the faster time seems to pass. Have a nice time in Perth.

Enjoy Perth. And your trip to Thailand. I thought I’d be working until I was at least 66 but lost my job. I most just run around with my friends while they go to doctors.

November 3, 2013

I finally managed to get in! Yes, time goes too quickly now, doesn’t it? Good that you two can travel and get that extra time in with Melissa & Evan.

November 6, 2013

RYN: The bank gave my money to a crook. They should have apologized all over the place and not taken an attitude, since it was THEIR fault in the first place.