A late December visit to the gardens seemed like Spring had arrived early

This past Tuesday, just a few days after Christmas, I ventured out to Magnolia Gardens to escape the noise and commotion from the pressure washing of our house.  It would do me good, as I’ve had so much on my mind lately, and needed to clear my head.  That  garden will always do that.  It puts me in a totally different place.

Magnolia is the oldest public garden in the country, created in the late 17th century on the banks of the Ashley River. It is a place of eye-popping beauty, especially in Spring when the grounds are covered in the red, pink,white and orange blooms of azaleas, many of them very old and historic varieties, the same with the huge collection of camellias at the garden.
I have made dozens and dozens of visits to this magical place over the past 35 years now, always with my camera, and always taking a lot of pictures.  An artist with a  camera can truly blossom here, as I have, because there are so many opportunities for taking photos of birds, flowers, marshes, creeks, swampland, small lakes, the riverfront, statues, and an abundance of live oaks trees with Spanish moss.
What surprised me on my most recent visit this week was the abundance of early daffodils. I don’t think I’ve ever seen them here in December.  They are about 5-6 weeks ahead of time.  Flowering trees were in bloom also. The sky was blue and the temperature 75 degrees.  It looked and felt like late Spring rather than late December.  I love this weather, and our winters are usually just about perfect, but obviously Nature is off kilter due to global warming.  There isn’t anyone, anyplace on Earth, who isn’t being affected by this.  Warm winters always make me wonder what the summer will be like.
Needless to say, with so much in bloom there  was no shortage of inspiration for this avid photographer.
Late December at Magnolia Gardens
Log in to write a note
December 30, 2021

Gorgeous pictures, as always!

These are beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing.