Down Memory Lane with silly hit songs from the 50s and 60s

This is one of those entries where I take myself back in a time machine to the years 1958-1963.  That was a momentous time in my young life as it was during this period in 1962 that my family moved into our new house in the suburbs of New Orleans.  Everything about my world seemed to change in a flash after that day in early October of that year:  new surroundings, new school, new friends and, of course, the unforgettable music of the 1950s and 1960s.

It was such an innocent time to be growing up in suburbia for we kids of the rapidly growing post-war middle class.  One might say 1960 marked a rather pivotal time in pop music.  The raucous, raw and brilliant early rock and roll music  was  giving way to more subdued, but still fun and talented artists and groups who were inevitably right for the early to mid-Sixties: Bobby Vinton, Dion ,The Shirelles, Johnny Tillotson, Brenda Lee, Jay and The Americans, Ricky Nelson, Sam Cooke and The Everly Brothers.   Also such folk artists as Peter, Paul and Mary and The Kingston Trio.  These names come from an online list of hits from 1962.

It’s strange to me how I can remember certain songs from that period in the late 50s and early 60s. I was only in 3rd through 6th grades then.  One reason was because, as with most things we remember, events and  emotional connotations surrounding the songs stand out.  Several songs in particular stand out for me, and this might have coincided with my first transistor radio, sales of which took off after 1957.

The songs I refer to included these:

  • “Sad Movies Always Make Me Cry” sung by Sue Thompson in 1961.  This was a rather poignant song.  It’s a sad little ballad and you can’t help listening to the words.  I remember this because I associate it with a red-haired girl in my neighborhood who I used to hear singing it.   She was slightly older than me.  I was 9.  I think she intrigued me.

https://youtu.be/IVxFbpMhn64

Lyrics:  https://genius.com/Sue-thompson-sad-movies-make-me-cry-lyrics

  • “The Battle of New Orleans” sung by Johnny Horton.  This was one if the most catchy songs I’ve ever heard, and back in 1959 it was No. 1 in the charts for six weeks.  It seems like everyone was humming or singing that song.  Growing up in new Orleans it was especially popular.  Turns out, however, that “Old Hickory,” Andrew Jackson, far from being heroic, was instead an awful man and an equally awful president, responsible for the forced re-location to Oklahoma of the Cherokee tribe of Native Americans along the shameful “Trail of Tears.”  He was a cruel slave owner of as many as 160 enslaved Africans who created his wealth.  But what does a 9-year-old back in 1959 know about history?
  • Battle of New Orleans,” sung by Johnny Horton

https://youtu.be/mjXM6x_0KZk

  • “Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini” Brian Hyland (1960)

Now you definitely have to have been around in 1960 to remember this crazy, silly, fun song which was a mega hit for Brian Hyland when he was still a teenager.   Rather dumb, but oh so catchy.   

https://youtu.be/liylIiks1og

Oh, no….Tumbling tumbleweeds, who could forget this, No. 1 in 1958, Sheb Wooley’s “purple People Eater.”  This clip is from Dick Clark’s American Bandstand.

https://youtu.be/6xoLgkPqqsU

And to wrap up this kittle trip down Memory Lane, one of my all-time favorite songs from 1963:

  • Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah by Allan Sherman. This was a comedy hit back in the day.  Although I never went to summer camp, I loved this song.

https://youtu.be/4yFTOvO0utY

Thanks for coming along on the ride.

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2022

I recognize the tune,  I guess i heard it from my oldies before when I was a kid.  I’m sure they taught me this before since I can hum as I listen in this video clip.

Not really my kind of music genre, but I loved music from the past too like those of good ‘ol Nat King Cole, Matt Monro which my late father and mother adore.

Thanks for the share.

February 2, 2022

I enjoyed this so much!!  Isn’t it funny how a song can take you back to a certain period in your life.  It feels like you are there again and that age again.