In Nature there is always something extraordinary to discover, but first you have to see it

We do not see Nature with our eyes, but with our understandings and our hearts.

William Hazlitt

Come forth into the light of things. Let Nature be your teacher.

William Wordsworth

It was a typically beautiful Saturday afternoon at the nature preserve, a 600-acre swamp, marsh, and coastal plain hardwood forest — a mini-wilderness, so to speak — only minutes from the immense labyrinth of urban sprawl that surrounds me. Its stillness and remoteness are deceptive once one enters the gates and travels a dirt and gravel road to the visitor center from whence trails spike out in every direction.

It was still that day with little wind. Reflections on the water surfaces were fascinating as I tried to capture with my camera the images which gave such complexity and depth to these natural features of the landscape. There is something surreal and quite beautiful about the mirror images of trees, grasses, reeds, clouds, and leaves reflected in perfectly still water. And when a slight breeze barely stirs the surface, the images take on other shapes and designs, patterns and inverse illusions.

Happy to be outdoors, I kept looking up at the skies to the high clouds which nevertheless let in a lot of sunlight. I stopped for a while on the dike separating brackish and freshwater wetlands to observe a group of herons in the branches of trees, their feathers gently ruffled by the sightest movement of wind, their gaze outward over water to the woods. I approached closer than I imagined I could with my binoculars to watch them perched in the branches. Serene, regal. They are masters of their world, whether resting atop the trees or wading gracefully in shallow water, artfully nabbing little fish and crustaceans in their beaks.

As I approached they would float off to another tree with exquisite motions of their beautiful wings, as seamless as an uninterrupted dream about flight.

From the marshes and waterfowl area, I made my way past the woods at the end of the preserve and into the pines and mixed hardwoods at the south end of the cypress swamp. Choosing to head back past the site of the old settlement and toward the parking lot via a shorter route, I turned at the big live oak tree with my favorite bench beneath it. At exactly a certain spot, each time I have been there at about 4 in the afternoon, the sun illumines with silvery brilliance the tiny leaves on a patch of shrubs about 8 feet high that form a small island in a cleared area just to the side of the oak tree. It is quite a startling sight to observe this suddenly lit-up of patch of shrubs, glowing in sunlight as if transmuted by the silvery light of a moon instead of the waning light of the sun in a clearing of grass and weeds. Ten steps farther along,I looked back to see only a dull, olive-gray cluster of shrubs, almost unnoticeable. Moments before it was a glowing ball of light.

Ah, so peaceful a walk. Not another person in sight. No sounds but the rustling of leaves underfoot. Not even the sound of wind in the trees.

”Magic” bushes described above:

https://flic.kr/p/DU9jeW

https://flic.kr/p/Eiokwp

https://flic.kr/p/EPxKud

Autumn at the nature preserve 2022

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/02Afj34Lj0

When the ordinary becomes sublime

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/o2AJWfL298

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

Such a beautiful area you live in! I was upstate this weekend and saw some remarkable things in nature: a field of lupines prospering, fog hanging over a cemetery, a flaming forsythia.

2 weeks ago

@ravdiablo Do you take pictures of those remarkable sightings?

2 weeks ago

@oswego I do! Sometime I’ll post them.

2 weeks ago

I know exactly what you write of the glowing bushes and the still lake. Just yesterday I was enjoying the stillness of the lake in my new neighborhood, the trees reflection and the ducks leaving a long trail behind them as they slowly crossed.

And the glowing bushes! I’ve seen and marveled at the same, but can never capture it on film.

2 weeks ago

@elkay I took those photos some years ago and had to go  my archive to find them.  They were just as I remembered them in my mind’s eye! 🙂

2 weeks ago

Beautiful pictures,  as always. I love when the sunlight changes the way something looks. Here,  right at the first rays of down or the last rays of day and the sun is not fully up or down, that particular kind of light makes the red cliffs and rock formations glow the firey red that you see in pictures.

2 weeks ago

@startingover_1 That is definitely the time of the most magical light of the day.  I like very late afternoon light, about a half hour before sunset. 🙂

2 weeks ago

Lovely to see Spanish moss again.  Of course we don’t have that out here — I think it’s purely a Southern thing.  Love that Wordsworth quote!

2 weeks ago

@ghostdancer I never tire of looking g at Spanish moss.  It’s so moody and mystical, in sunlight or shade!

2 weeks ago

I walk every day and today I’m going to take some photos with my iPhone.  I don’t have the beautiful scenery that you do, and the neighbors may wonder what I’m up to, but I’ll try to take at least one photo.  Your words and photo art are amazing!  So talented you are and I really appreciate that you shared with us.

2 weeks ago

@wildrose_2 Thank you so much.  The camera offers me the chance to daily see that which I’d otherwise never notice, including the smallest details of life.  🙂