Making way for reality

Lately I’ve been very excited about learning new things every day; reading the most thought-provoking books I can imagine; immersing myself in educational, philosophical and metaphysical YouTubes; watching good movies I’ve been anticipating; and listening to enlightening music. It’s all there, waiting for me.

But it’s also still Spring and I’m looking out on a gloriously sunny and beautiful day. I have to get out. The learning and intellectual stimulation will have to wait until later today or this evening.

At the same time, reality has abruptly intruded, ironically since I got my second Covid shot nearly a month ago. For the first time in 15 months, I’ve ventured out into the real world of lots of people. I’ve over-indulged inshopping forays at my favorite stores. And, unfortunately, I’ve had to tend to overdue doctor and dental visits and appointments.

So my little pandemic hideaway existence, and gnome-like solitary life of the mind are becoming wispy, pleasant memories. My pandemic-laden excuses not to tend to my physical health have resulted in some unwanted gifts in the form of reality checks.

I’m venturing out into the familiar and known once again, and it’s full of both dangers and exciting possibilities for new forms of freedom. I must alter some negative ways of thinking. I need to focus on healing and nurturing both my mind and body. That’s one of the great lessons I’ve learned in life, especially valuable now that I’m on a journey into my seventies.

Log in to write a note
May 16, 2021

Yes, it’s a two-edged sword, this partial lifting of the lockdown, innit?  For me, it just adds more things I can do, and while they need to be done, it saps my energy to do them.  So the house & yard don’t get the attention they need.  Pf00ey!  Can’t win for losing!

May 17, 2021

@ghostdancer Yes, I’m now in between two worlds:   Pandemic-induced solitude that was productive and enjoyable, and a natural state for me; and now the jolt back to reality which means tending to health and other vital things that I could justifiably postpone due to the pandemic.  No more, and that’s brought increased thinking about mortality and all the anxiety that can be attributed to getting old, when it used to seem so far off in the future.

May 17, 2021

@oswego We share that change of outlook, Oswego.  Now when I watch those tv crime series I seem to like so much these days, I think about what if that was me on the slab, or dead in hospital.  It doesn’t seem so far fetched either.  If I lived to the age both my parents did, I’ve got 17 more years.  But … maybe I’m not in as good health as they were (although my dad did have emphysema & my mom angina.)  So it’s one day at a time, & try to get things ready — get rid of all the clutter, sell off what I don’t want, get family heirlooms labeled, etc.  All that should keep me busy for 17 years!

Guess what came in the mail today?  Celtic miniature door

All thanks to you for making me remember …