Backfill

I just spent the past few minutes reading several of my journal entries from the fall of 2001. Last week, too, I surfed my journal, and was surprised by what I found, surprised and delighted.

I used to write well, and write often.

As often as I have said “I’m too busy to write” or “I have no cathartic need right now”, looking back and reconnecting to the written word, and to the pseudoanonymous connections of others around OpenDiary, I must conclude that this, too, is one of the things I must restore.

I must get back to writing more often.

It’s the heart of spring here in this state. The weather is warm and breezy and sunny, or with light rain or wicked awesome thunderstorms. Everything is resplendent verdure, green on green until even the gray of the road and buildings is drowned out.

It is a beautiful thing. This few short weeks is one of my favorite times of year.

Next weekend is Memorial weekend, and once again I am driving rover-sweep on the Cottonwood 200 bike ride. I am looking forward to it. Spending three days in a rental pick-up (read as this year’s Dodge Ram) with XM Radio, crew cab, four-wheel drive, and all the snack food and water/Gatoraide I care to eat and drink courtesy of our SAGs — all of that while driving through some of the most beautiful countryside this state offers, and at that perfect time of year.

Yes, I am blessed.

Yesterday was my Celebrating Home bingo party at Coyote Canyon. Three couples showed up, and bought $100. I need to get another $100 in catalog sales before the middle of NEXT week, or my party won’t qualify. *sigh* I have cheep friends. *grin*

Honestly, I’m not very good at this. I’m not a salesperson. I can endorse a product or concept, but I don’t know how to compel people to buy something, and people know that I don’t really want to learn how, either.

But there is this one serving set, and I can only get it if I get two bookings from my parties (qualifying bookings). That’s my only goal in this.

All that aside, it was fun to see and goof and eat with my friends.

Today is Seth’s birthday (relatively newfound geek-friend — he’s an alpha geek) and tomorrow he invited me over to watch a movie and generally just hang out. That’s neat. It’s nice to be invited over like that, and honestly, I don’t know how to take it. I suppose “graciously” is the answer. I’ll find my way… *smile*

His wife is becoming as competitive for my friendship as the Fern is; this is amusing to me, but I appreciate it as well. This makes spending time with Seth slightly challenging. She is more charismatic, which means she can automagically command my focus, my attention. I’ll continue to keep things focused on Seth at least tomorrow night — after all, today is his birthday.

As for the rest of me, I am tired. Physically tired, and I regret that because its a gorgeous day to be out doing something, but I will probably… actually, what I will probably do is go down to the Fern’s. I need to retrieve some camping gear for this weekend and a book or two for my brother if I can find it (these are at the Fern’s). She will make dinner, and when its dark, I’ll go to sleep. In the meantime, I’ll be up and doing something where I’m enjoying the weather.

On the interesting front, River just invited me to her Facebook — that’s about 6 years out of context, out of contact. Her CHOOSING to not be in contact, and now, voila, I’m invited back in, kinda. Her page shows that she’s “in a relationship”, which is fine. Except, I know when I add former romantic liaisons to my Facebook, I’m hunting. Creating opportunity. So this is very curious to me.

And, I’ve been thinking A LOT about Trynity these past couple of weeks, trying to think of a way to “break the silence”, something to surprise her which would also be both “very me” and also “very unexpected” (which, regular readers know, is NOT me). God does funny things, because she tex’d me today, telling me that she’s been thinking about me a lot.

There’s room for hope and wonder all the time. Amen.

Log in to write a note

:O) so nice to see you write and I am thrilled to see the possibility of you writing more often tho I rarely get to read anymore … I am face booked too if you care to add .. she says with no trolling bar a happy thought of being able to watch your meanderings :O) ***HUGS*** I hope you and your coffee table are extraordinarily well