Broken (pt 2)

Every year, we have a special communion service in the week before Christmas, where families sign up for a time to have communion with one of our pastors. It is a personal time, and a significant time for everyone involved. My parents signed up before they found out they were going to Texas, so I appeared “as their proxy”.

It hurt. Granted, I am tired and depressed, and generally more heart on the sleeve this time of year. But it hurt that I was going to communion alone. I had asked about for a date, but everyone was too busy with something else.

When I got to church, I mingled while waiting to enter the sanctuary. Its nice to have friends. *smiles* But, once inside, I sat by myself in the back row, waiting my turn, and crying into my crossed arms on the back of the pew in front of me.

I was tired. I was alone. I was hurting.

Not that I am complaining. I am alone, and that hurts. But it is life. It is the price I pay for..whatever. At any rate, I wasn’t blaming anyone, or asking that it be changed. I wasn’t even wanting the pain to stop.

All I really wanted was to get moving, move through it and get out of there. Get away from people, and go home.

All I really wanted was a tender shoulder to have a good cry on. But I was alone.

After almost half an hour, I managed to get a high-pass-cycle running that kept my emotions in check well enough that I approached the front of the church.

PRay spotted me first and flagged me over. We sat on the platform steps, reclined actually, and he told me about a conversation he had with our senior pastor. About our trip to Seattle and the post-modern church. We talked about how this particular evening was typical of a post-modernistic activity: it was about making contact, making meaning. It was a reinvention, a reapplication of the first-century church.

We talked, and shared truth, and a vision for what could be, what should be. But I found it ironic that as we discussed the necessity, the imperitive of post-modern church meeting the needs of its members and not being just a “program”…that he didn’t ask about my apparant sadness.

*chuckle*

Or, maybe he sensed it, sensed the truth about it, and understood that I didn’t want change, but only to get through it, so he kept the discussion intellectiual. And in that way, I stayed sane.

In this way, together we broke a small loaf of bread, in the manner of the original disciples after Jesus’ ascension, and we took a cup, and we ate and drank together, in recognition, in rememberance, of Jesus’ sacrifice on all our behalf. And of our part in that.

So now I come here. I play out my entry on the keyboard while listening to Tori Amos loop in QuickTime. I’m still alone, despite friends in IM. I still hurt. I have no shoulder to cry on. But thats okay. Tomorrow will be another day. But Jesus is for always. And the reason I have another day.

Log in to write a note

Yes so very true.. your last line is the best of that whole entire entry.. how inspiring eh?.. He is ALWAYS .. dang ALWAYS is a long word.. wow.. just think bout that for a second.. always there B.. man a living.. ain’t i lucky to know him!!! 🙂 I hope you feel better soon hun.. and my shoulder is always willing to hold a head that needs to let out a few tears.. and my shoulder is always close to

my heart.. use it at free will.. you know my email babe.. you know my aol.. and ill be on more now cause exams are finished..chin up hun.. smile on the face.. chripy personality(i know you have one) and an optomistic attitude..its christmas and you CAN be happy! i know you CAN..fight for it cause the guy that is ALWAYS there is ALWAYS willing to help too 🙂 great isn’t he? Love you *HUGS* Sarah 🙂

Parr,,,,,,dear! I JUST hate it that you get so depressed and down, especially in the winter…..IT could be sooo different……. Just a suggestion….Have you tried one of the dating services????? What could you lose? A date once in a while may hook you up with Msss right!!!! Smile Happy Holidays,,,,,,,(I have a shoulder)