Theme Song for a Non-existent Television Series

It’s late. Way late. In fact, I should really say, “early”. Way early.

I sit in my parent’s basement typing on a near-end-of-life seventeen-inch Mac Book Pro sipping Broker’s gin as I reacquaint with my earlier self. The good stuff, at least. Quality writing, usually a dream or a moment of inspiration unfolded in text and thrown out for the world. A new world, it would seem today.

There will be time later, time to read the blasé journal entries that will make my skin crawl and stomach churn with an ill-intimacy that I’ve never quite settled into with myself. Which may be the most revealing thing – for me – about reading my journal.

Ironically, like many other returning OpenDiarists, I’ve taken up with other journaling tools to no great effect. Except maybe one: I’ve actually decided to work on a screenplay for my own life. This was intended as both a diary project – to keep me writing, keep writing frequently and in a purposeful way – and a way to process myself: how far I’ve come, how far I’m going.

It is most telling that I’ve not kept up with the required note-taking. This means that during periods of utter boredom I will sit down and fill in gaps of weekly highlights over the past year, then shuffling said highlights to fit a tighter episode schedule.

It has been very entertaining to discover and write dialog in the voices of my friends. The few I’ve shown have also found it entertaining.

So, with this, my first post in five years, I sign off with the theme song from a non-existent television series.

Postscript: I cannot click publish without saying a word for the friends I’ve had and lost on OD; I hope you return. And dearest Penguin, you are still missed more often and by more people than you ever realized.

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2018

Thinking of you in the early morning hours.  This was a beautiful entry.

April 21, 2018

What an interesting idea!  I have tried to get into writing a personal memoir but find it overwhelming . And I can’t imagine anyone would want to read it . Good luck with your screen play.