33 Things You Never Knew Had Names

  1. AGLET – The plain or ornamental covering on the end of a shoelace. This I did know.
  2. ARMSCYE – The armhole in clothing. I knew this. I took a couple of courses many years ago on constructing clothing without a pattern…
  3. CHANKING – Spat-out food, such as rinds or pits.This I didn’t know,  but it would be a really useful word for the mother of a small child…
  4. COLUMELLA NASI – The bottom part of the nose between the nostrils.
  5. DRAGÉES – Small beadlike pieces of candy, usually silver-coloured, used for decorating cookies, cakes and sundaes. This I did know
  6. FEAT – A dangling curl of hair.
  7. FERRULE – The metal band on a pencil that holds the eraser in place. This I knew, and isn’t it also the bottom of a walking stick?
  8. HARP – The small metal hoop that supports a lampshade. Yep, knew this, too having made many lamps out of wine bottles in my time!
  9. HEMIDEMISEMIQUAVER – A 64th note. (A 32nd is a demisemiquaver, and a 16th note is a semiquaver.) Yes, knew this also but I think this is only true in European English-speaking countries. In the States I think  this is called something else…
  10. JARNS,
  11. NITTLES,
  12. GRAWLIX,
  13. and QUIMP – Various squiggles used to denote cussing in comic books.
  14. KEEPER – The loop on a belt that keeps the end in place after it has passed through the buckle.
  15. KICK or PUNT – The indentation at the bottom of some wine bottles. It gives added strength to the bottle but lessens its holding capacity.
  16. LIRIPIPE – The long tail on a graduate’s academic hood. And also the dangling part of a hood worn by men in the Middle Ages.
  17. MINIMUS – The little finger or toe.
  18. NEF – An ornamental stand in the shape of a ship.
  19. OBDORMITION – The numbness caused by pressure on a nerve; when a limb is `asleep’.
  20. OCTOTHORPE – The symbol `#’ on a telephone handset. Bell Labs’ engineer Don Macpherson created the word in the 1960s by combining octo-, as in eight, with the name of one of his favourite athletes, 1912 Olympic decathlon champion Jim Thorpe.
  21. OPHRYON – The space between the eyebrows on a line with the top of the eye sockets.
  22. PEEN – The end of a hammer head opposite the striking face. Yes, I knew this one. A very useful word in Bookworm!
  23. PHOSPHENES – The lights you see when you close your eyes hard. Technically the luminous impressions are due to the excitation of the retina caused by pressure on the eyeball.
  24. PURLICUE – The space between the thumb and extended forefinger.
  25. RASCETA – Creases on the inside of the wrist.
  26. ROWEL – The revolving star on the back of a cowboy’s spurs. I knew this.
  27. SADDLE – The rounded part on the top of a matchbook.
  28. SCROOP – The rustle of silk.
  29. SNORKEL BOX – A mailbox with a protruding receiver to allow people to deposit mail without leaving their cars.
  30. SPRAINTS – Otter dung. Thanks to watching BBC nature programs, I knew this also!
  31. TANG – The projecting prong on a tool or instrument. Yes, knew this one, too.
  32. WAMBLE – Stomach rumbling.
  33. ZARF – A holder for a handleless coffee cup

This was snagged from some Internet site…

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2006

That’s interesting.. hmm Merry Christmas!

December 24, 2006

how fascinating!

December 24, 2006

FERRULE – also the metal part on a paint brush. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

December 24, 2006

how very interesting! i never knew most of those things had names. i do love learning things like that! take care,

December 24, 2006

Damn. You knew a hell of a lot more of these than i did. The only one I knew was the word ROWELL, the business end of a spur. One other….TANG. But I think of it as the moveable part of a belt buckle that goes thru the hole in a belt. Speaking of holes in a belt. I started out in the Army at age 18 with being issued trousers with a waist size of 28 inches. Now years later, Ihave trouble buttoning my size 36 pants. So you can see that the tang on my belt has been busy keeping up with my waistline. LOL

December 24, 2006

now I need to try to incorporate into sentences 🙂

Hmmm…I knew one or two, but no more than that. ryn: Added 🙂

December 24, 2006

Wow! I learn something new every day! Thanks. Love you. Merry Christmas!

December 24, 2006

SO INTERESTING

Merry Christmas!!! I hope Santa was good to you…

I will try and remember ZARF. They give them in the library cafe with take-away coffee. Who am I kidding, I will not remember it.

Pat
December 24, 2006

Interesting!

very interesting

December 31, 2006

interesting. I’ll have to do an entry on Alaskan jargon for you.