A Lazy Day

Today I have done very little. I spent some time studying for the Italian test I will have on Tuesday. I will do the rest of the review tomorrow before I go to physical therapy. And in case you have forgotten, I HAVE THE TEXT BOOK!
The rest of the day I have spent lying on the bed reading. I have finished Faye Kellerman’s newest book The Burnt House and started Bernard Cornwell’s Sword Song:The Battle for London. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this is set in the time of Alfred the Great in the ninth century. I read and enjoyed The Saxon Chronicles set in the same time period. You may be wondering why I have this book if I didn’t know what it was about.   Well, I went to the library right before class last Thursday and I really didn’t allow myself much time before I had to leave, so basically it was a quick scan of the shelf of the new books and a grab of three books which I hadn’t read before!Changing the subject considerably, I am wondering why on earth Apple considers the "magnetic" cord a positive selling point. The cord for the Mac Book  pops in and out of a little magnetic slot. One one hand, it is a small Good Thing that the cord is not going to catch in anything and bring the computer crashing to the ground. If the cord does get caught in anything, it just disconnects from the computer with the slightest of tugs. But, on the other hand, several times the cord has disconnected when I haven’t been aware of it until a little notice box pops up on the screen telling me I have been running on battery and the computer will be shutting down in a minute.Tomorrow:

  • Study vocabulary words and the phrases.
  • go to physical therapy
  • mabe go for a walk?

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2008

Have a good evening.

February 3, 2008

My dell does that as well and doesn’t have this magnetic cord. What I did is change my screen to very dark when its on battery and high when its on the cord. This has helped me big time as I notice the disconnect quickly.

Shi
February 3, 2008
February 3, 2008

Yet another thing to consider when I buy a laptop! You got the textbook? I must have missed an entry because the last I heard, you were frustrated and firing off a nasty note because you HADN’T received it. Got to go back and check now…

February 3, 2008

I’ll have to ask my son about his cord. His little lap top is mainly used without a cord.

🙂 glad you have the book at last!

February 3, 2008

I like stories set in medieval or earlier times also! Your lazy day sounds like it was quite a nice one. And I hope you have a lovely day today also! hugs, Weesprite

February 3, 2008

I don’t have one of those magnetic cords on the T60, just a big ol’ plug. But at least I know when the computer isn’t plugged in. That must be annoying. How was the new Kellerman — I’ve really enjoyed the early ones, but the more recent stuff has been getting pretty repetitive.

I hate magnetic cords!!! My fondue pot has one and it drives me NUTS!!! I suppose there’s some reason why engineers have decided this is a “good” move; however, I cannot notice it!! All I notice is that all of a sudden my food goes cold and I realize that the cord has been unplugged from the back (yet still plugged into the WALL — isn’t that a hazard?) for several minutes. Ugh!

February 4, 2008

Ooooh, I couldn’t imagine a magnetic plug being that beneficial. Safety yah, but at the point of great annoyance.

Hmmm I never got into Faye Kellerman as much as I did Jonathan Kellerman. Maybe I should give her another try.

ryn: REALLY!! That’s just as bad as walking into a house that’s been organized and just opening drawers and digging through things! Leave it alone! Ahhhh!! Glad someone understands the frustration!

February 4, 2008

good luck on the test tomorrow. a walk this afternoon might be a good thing for me and merlyn. supposed to be warm enough we can go up the street and around the corner for a longer walk than normal. take care,