A Quick Thought

When I was teaching I used to get my homeroom of seventh graders to write at the close of the school day what they had learned today that they didn’t know yesterday. And if you think about it, there is always something. So, what did I learn today that I didn’t know yesterday?

Today I learned how to get my PC to talk to my printer! It wasn’t as easy as it was to get the Macs to do this, but now I can print from any computer! I also learned, yet one more time, that it is essential to set a timer and bring that timer with me if I have a pizza in the toaster oven and go into the living room while it is cooking. "oh, I’ll hear the toaster oven  timer," I said to myself. Ummm, not always!

 Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

“As I look back on my life, I realize that every time I thought I was being rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.” -Steve Maraboli

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

extra crispy pizza. oops! I have learned I need to set the timer too. I almost always forget what time I put the food in the oven.

November 4, 2012

Oh, if could have a dime for every time I missed hearing that kitchen timer…!

BJ.
November 4, 2012

I hear the timer but ignore it if I’m on the computer thinking oh I’ll just be a minute longer and 20 minutes later ekkkk I run to the kitchen.

November 4, 2012

What a great question to ask students and myself. I may start asking my son to do this. He is very smart but doesn’t always think he is…

November 4, 2012

What a great question to ask students and myself. I may start asking my son to do this. He is very smart but doesn’t always think he is…

November 4, 2012

I set my timer for things and carry it around with me, too! I used to often think about new things I learned each day. I should start pausing to think about that again! Recently I’ve learned a few quicker ways of doing certain tasks at work….and HOW I learned them was by seeing how one of the students who came down to help us for a day, did it! hugs, Nicky

November 5, 2012

I think I am going to use that. The what did I learn idea will keep them thinking about what they learned just so they’ll have an answer at the end of the day. Brilliant!

November 5, 2012

That happens to me all the time! I’m glad to know I’m not the only one!

I’m not sure where they purchased it, by my mom and dad use a small kitchen timer that is on a rope they hang around their neck. It works great for them, as they often put food on to cook, and then go outside to complete chores.

November 5, 2012

RYN: Not me! I’m not a fan, but he likes them so whatever :/