A Thanksgiving Survey</B?

Stolen from here.

1. What are the things you are most thankful for this year?

Well, of course, my continued health with no more cancer, my two sons and their partners, and of course, Fred.

2. Are any of these things relatively new to your list?

Nope

3. Do you think you have become a more or less thankful person as you have gotten older?

Oh, much more thankful.

4. WHO, specifically, do you thank, when you feel thankful?

Hmmm, well, I think I am thankful mostly in a generalized way. I don’t think that anyone {except, perhaps myself} is responsible for these things.

5. Some people give thanks to God. What are your feelings or thoughts about that?

Well, if they get something out of doing that, it is fine for them. I don’t feel that way.

6. Of the things you are thankful for…. how much credit do you give yourself for those things, as compared to how much thanks you give to others or God for giving those things to you?

I really don’t believe that God has given me any of these things.

7. How important is Thanksgiving to you, as a holiday? What do you like or dislike about it?

It is not important at all. I grew up in England where we are not thankful at all ! Perhaps it would be more true to say we don’t have a holiday for this purpose.

8. Tell us something memorable about the Thanksgivings of your childhood.

Pay attention! I didn’t do Thanksgiving until I was an adult.

9. What things are traditional for you to do on Thanksgiving?

Well, when my MIL was alive {and I was still married} we went to her house. When I was divorced, I sent the kid to his father’s for Thanksgiving. I got Christmas.

10. Will this Thanksgiving be about the same, or different, from last, for you?

Oh, probably the same. Read, eat too much and go for a walk!

11. What’s your favorite item on the Thanksgiving dinner table? I like turkey breast, I also like Fred’s cranberry sauce which has less sugar than the traditional recipe.

12. Is there a Thanksgiving of the past that particularly stands out in your mind? Wanna tell about it? 

Well, when I was working at the bookstore, my fellow workers seemed horrified that I was going to be by myself on Thanksgiving Day. I actually liked having the house {and computer } to myself!

13. Do you join the throngs who go shopping on the day after Thanksgiving?

{shudder} No way. I hate the Friday after Thanksgiving.

14. After Thanksgiving comes Christmas. When do you put up your Christmas tree?

Some time early in December…

15. Do you start your Christmas shopping before or after Thanksgiving, usually?

Since I do most of it on line these days, it doesn’t really matter.

16. Do you put up any decorations other than a Christmas tree? If so, what?

Just a Christmas tree. And if I lived alone, I wouldn’t even bother with that.

17. How important are your religious or spiritual feelings to you, in the celebration of Christmas, or is it a secular holiday for you?

Although I was brought up as a Roman Catholic, it is a secular holiday for me.

18. But wait, maybe you’re not Christian! If you’re not, what do you celebrate at this time of year?

Fred is not a Christian but we celebrate Christmas because we like it.

19. How important was the belief in Santa to you, when you were a child? Did your own children believe in Santa as well?

My kids believed in Santa until they went to school…

20. What do you want for Christmas this year?

I have an Amazon wish list…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
November 13, 2007

I’ve a British friend here who wishes she could have Thanksgiving. I told her to go right ahead, and perhaps in time other people in England will do as she does. They can all be thankful that we left and moved to “the colonies”! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

November 13, 2007

When I saw this title, I giggled a little. I remembered that you don’t hold Thanksgiving the same as us USA folks. Just out of curiosity, does England have any holidays that are comparable???? Love to you! ~M

November 13, 2007

What an interesting perspective!

November 13, 2007

This is a nifty survey. I do like it. And I must agree, I began to be more appreciative and thankful for things as I got older. When I wsa a child and in school, I had to try and come up with things to be thankful for, but I never realized what I truly was thankful for until recently.

Pat
November 13, 2007

I knew that England didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving at the time the U.S. did, but I thought that there was a similar holiday at a different time. I must be losing it! LOL. It was interesting reading your answers. (((Hugs)))

I’m chuckling over your answer to #8 – pay attention! LOL

Hee Hee Don’t we all have an Amazon wish list! ** giggling **

November 13, 2007

Haha, I like the rolling smiley mention of your Amazon wishlist. That’s handy!

November 14, 2007

Interesting survey. I have rather ambiguous feelings about American (indeed most) holidays. Fred’s cranberry sauce sounds like fun.