An Entry from Italy

Ok, bits and pieces as they occur to me. This all has been one big buzzing confusion for a few days and I am only just settling down to a routine.

I am in Lucca, in Italy, staying with a lady about my age called Milena and her 33 year old daughter, Laura. They are both very nice. Milena speaks a little English and Laura speaks well. I don’t see much of Laura because she goes out to work early. Milena and I have breakfast together and then I walk to the school which is {almost literally} round the corner. The street where I live is Via Diversi and the school is on Via A. Mordini

I am in the “We-know-just-a-little-bit-of-Italian” group. There are two Americans (a man and his wife,}a Norwegian man who is almost my age, an Irish woman who actually lives in Lucca with her husband and three children, an Australian woman whom I eat lunch with a lot,  three constantly chattering German college-age girls and me! Our teacher is called Lorenza and is excellent. We laugh a lot and talk a lot {in a sort of mixture of Italian and English at the moment} and are encouraged to help each other.

Lucca is a medieval city with narrow cobbled streets. I am glad I packed the sturdy metal cane and don’t have to rely on the cute collapsible one I bought for the plane! There are areas designated for pedestrians only but cars and especially bicycles make their way through the narrow streets impeded by the people who walk where they can!

Lucca is called the citty of 100 churches. I  think someone said there are really only 99 but that is a lot of churches for a city which has walls that are about two-and-a-half miles in length. This is the old city, of course. The city has moved outside its walls. Anyway, each church has an open area in front  of it called a piazza. This afternoon I found the Piazza di San Frediano! The church has a painting above the door but I didn’t have my camera with me.

I took my Mac Book computer with me and I am able to use the school’s network. Every morning we have a 30 minute break from class and everyone rushes out. I stay there, boot up the Mac Book and check my email. I have been trying to get to OD with no luck. Anyway, I am writing this in the word processor and if I can ever get to OD, through the magic of cut and paste, I will post it.

This is how my days have been going so far. I eat breakfast with Milena, go to class from 9 am to 1 p.m. and then find a bar, a pizzeria or a trattoria to eat lunch. I eat a big lunch (which I order in Italian}  then buy fresh fruit at the market near the house to eat in the evening. This has worked very well. I already have a favorite trattoria where I can eat outside and the weather has been beautiful–cool and sunny.

I managed to find a shop in downtown Lucca to get the proper adaptor for my computer to be able to be plugged into the Italian electric supply. Unfortunately, that same night, I carelessly left it on the floor and stepped on it shattering the plastic bits! Since I now knew where the store was, it was no problem to walk there and get another! And this time I remembered the store closed for the two-hour lunch and didn’t open until 4 p.m.. A very few stores stay open all day but most of them close for about two hours for lunch. They are also open half a day on Saturday , and closed all day Sunday and Monday!

This weekend will be spent walking and taking photos AND eating gelato. Italian ice cream is fantastic and I am trying a different flavor every day. My favorite so far is mora {blackberry}

More later…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
September 21, 2007

It all sounds so exciting! I can’t wait to see photos. I would wanna go to all of those churches!! And I can’t wait to hear more about your days in Italy! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

September 21, 2007

Patrisha, the town sounds ever so lovely & your days, so much fun & so relaxing, too. I guess by now you know OD had a server problem. Keep on sending us entries. We love it! Anna

September 21, 2007

OD has been experiencing extreme technical difficulties all week. Yesterday was the first time I was able to get here. 🙂 I’m *so* glad to see a post from you. Reading about your trip so far is great. 🙂 RYN: I’m glad we joined too. I’m hoping that I’ll lose at least a little bit in the first month. That will tell me I am at least doing something good.

September 21, 2007

I used to live in Italy and I miss it so much. The town was Teolo. Small, beautiful town in the mountains near Padua.

September 21, 2007

It sounds as though you’re having an enjoyable time! I love the sound of all the different flavours of ice cream. Continue to have a lovely time!

September 21, 2007

sounds wonderful!! i bet exploring the old part of the city is most exciting. you didn’t mention your hip so i’m guessing you’re getting around alright with very little or no pain? can hardly wait to see the photos!! take care,

So glad you were finally able to post to OD. We have had OD probs but hopefully DM has fixed them.

September 21, 2007

Oh I love the sound of Lucca! I am so excited to see pictures when you get a chance.

I sucked up every word of that entry….it was wonderful!!!

September 21, 2007

Oh, I love this entry! It all sounds just so exciting–the classes, the shops, the food, the ADVENTURE of it all. I’m glad OD was functioning long enough for you to post this!

September 21, 2007

I’ve been thinking about you all week, wondering how you were doing. So happy to hear that it sounds like what you expected… Can’t wait for pictures, and more… OD seems to be back, so we’ll look forward to your rntries! Love to you! ~M

Pat
September 21, 2007

Italy sounds lovely. I want to go there one day (my husband is Italian). What memories you are collecting! (((hugs)))

September 21, 2007

Thank you for sharing…sounds so beautiful…do enjoy….you deserve it! Precious memories!

Great to see an update from you. It sounds like you are having a wonderful time!!! I’ll be watching for your next post!! Hugs, M

September 21, 2007

How wonderful. I’m so glad you were able to post. It sounds like a dream, Patricia. Hurray for you and hurray for us travelling old ladies!

How exciting and wonderful for you! I can’t wait to read more and to see pictures!

September 21, 2007

I’ve been reading even though I haven’t been writing and noting much. I’m so glad you made your dream come true. Now have the greatest time ever. :o) take care of you

September 21, 2007

So wonderful

It’s so good to read an entry from you, Patricia! It all sounds marvelous!!

September 21, 2007

What an adventure! I can almost envision you walking through the city.

Shi
September 21, 2007

Wow, can’t wait to see the photos of your weekend. 🙂

September 21, 2007

I am soooo jealous! Have fun and enjoy!

September 21, 2007

I cannot wait to hear more!!! oh the visual images I have! *huggs*

🙂 You are in Italy!

September 21, 2007

This experience sounds superb!

September 21, 2007

Oh what fun! I can see you trotting (as it were) about Lucca, with a big smile on your face, and camera in hand. Is the weather good? It sounds as though you are having a splendid time.

How exciting. I’m so thrilled for you!

September 21, 2007

It sounds wonderful in Italy. I am envious of you.

🙂 sounds great and you sound very upbeat.

September 21, 2007

Wow.. thanks for the updates… sounds like you are having a fabulous time!!

September 21, 2007

I can’t believe you’re already there. Love hearing about your adventure.

Lucca sounds lovely. I wish I were in Italy again. Do watch your step on those cobbled streest…one could easily twist an ankle on them.

September 22, 2007

How cool is this. Thank you so very much for sharing your trip with us. I love reading how you are doing. I find it wonderful. What are the churches and building made of wood or stone, or both? Take care of you and I hope that you can post more entries. Blessigns.

September 22, 2007

Wow, what an exciting time it must be! I’m so glad things are going well so far!

So glad you were able to get your entry to post… sounds like you are having a great time… Enjoy…you deserve it!

September 25, 2007

WOW, it’s finally here! Have a grand time!