And Today…

So, today I went to town to pick up my paper from la prof’s mailbox. The first problem was parking. Parking in Burlington is always difficult. There are two big carparks that offer two free hours. In past times, I have occasionally had to wait a few minutes for a place but I have never, until today, seen both of these parks with the Carpark Full sign lit up! So, I chose to drive down to Perkin’s Pier at Lake Champlain and park there. One has to pay for parking there during the summer but Fred and I, being Officially Old, have a card that will get us into State Parks {and Perkin’s Pier} free.

It was quite a long walk and all up hill to Church St Market Place which is also where the Burlingtom branch of the Community College is. I really didn’t mind this because uphill I can do when I am not tired. I actually prefer this to my walk to the library which is downhill going but uphill coming back. I walked slowly and saw a couple of interesting things. First, there was an art gallery where there was a craftsman giving a display of glass-blowing! That was very impressive. Then I passed the Firehouse Center for the Visual Arts where there was a display of craft works. This being Vermont, the crafts were of a very high quality. Unfortunately, this being a tourist area, they were also very high-priced… I bought nothing but I did sample their free coffee and cookies. There was one cookie which was chocolate and peppermint together…delicious. I liked it so much that I popped in on the way back and snagged a couple more of them!

I had tried to get my grade on line before I left and there was nothing. Now, when I asked the girl at the front desk to check Nichole’s mailbox for papers, there were no papers there yet.  The girl told me that grades usually take 24 hours to show up on the web site so I will try tomorrow. She also said to call and she would check the box for papers before I went down there again! I decided to walk back {all downhill} to my car. On the way, I located the Euro Cafe where, la prof told us, they have an Italian night once a month with singers and story-tellers in Italian. I also went into an architectural salvage warehouse where they had, anong other things, several of the old-fashioned claw-footed long bathtubs! One reason I seldom take a bath these days is that the tub is much too short for me to be comfortable. So, although we now have access to a tub with jets, both Fred and I prefer to shower! I also found a consignment store I had never been in before and spent a little time in there but although I found a couple of coats at a good price, I don’t actually need a new coat. This store was a bit irritating in that although the coats were all in the same place, they were not arranged by size, just jumbled together.

So, I got my car and started to drive home. It would be truer to say I started to "inch" my way home. There was, of course, a lot more traffic than usual which I did expect but what I didn’t expect was a lot more pedestrians than usual who swarmed across the roads when the lights were in their favor and when they were not!  On the way back there are two places where the road becomes two-laned. The lane on the right is for people {like me} who want to go straight ahead and the other lane is for traffic to turn left. Twice , someone in the left lane whipped around in front of me when the light changed , much to my annoyance.  And, of course, in order to get home I had to make my way around the roundabout, which, with normal traffic, usually goes quite well with people yielding to oncoming traffic where they should. But the traffic today was not normal and apparently there was something in the air today which prevented car drivers seeing the yield signs. Fortunately, I always drive defensively around the roundabout.

Anyway, I got home safely and Fred was cooking bacon just in time for lunch. I am going to spend the rest of the day reading and relaxing. I have done over 5000 steps today including my walk this morning and I need to rest…

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note

Your adventures today sound like such fun, except for the part about your grades not being available. That’s twice today I’ve heard how tasty chocolate and mint are together.

December 22, 2006

Wheee. That was quite a shopping trip. And fighting the traffic too. I’ll bet you were pooped out. As I understand it, you taught school in Mississippi for quite a few years…….and now you are in Vermount. Thats quite a change of locations. Are you from Vermount. Forgive me. I’m just nosey and can’t help it.

December 22, 2006

Wow! That was quite a morning!!!!! Glad you at least snagged some cookies for your trouble! Love to you! ~M

December 22, 2006

That’s an interesting outing! I went out today, as you know, and decided the only way to survive the crowds was to hang back and not be in a big hurry. It helped a lot in having to deal with the dodos who don’t know how to negotiate crowded stores.

December 22, 2006
Pat
December 22, 2006

Chocolate peppermint cookies sound divine to me! And free ones are even better! 😀 That’s also great to have gotten in more than 5000 steps today!

December 22, 2006

I haven’t even dared to think about going about the masses. It’s too dreadful to contemplate. Oh — do check out the new Loreena McKennitt — I think you would like it.

December 22, 2006

Our Girl Scout Cookies offer chocolate mint cookies and they go like hot cakes. Glad that you made it home all right. Thanks for your understanding note.

December 22, 2006

Big nice entry..

December 23, 2006

What a lot of really neat adventures you had! I love seeing crafts and glass-blowing. And I hope you get to go to the Italian Night sometime….that sounds really cool! Here’s wishing you a lovely day and weekend. hugs, Weesprite

Sounds like you found lots of new things!!! A day well spent…

December 23, 2006

Sat. Morn, 8:35 CST, Austin, Texas. Thank you so much for your autobiographical note. I love England. I am a retired Air Force man and have been there a number of times, both in WWII and later. I was stationed at RAF Sculthorpe (Norfolk) in 1950/51. After 21 years, I retired from the AF in 1963. I have a degree in Accounting. Worked for an aircraft manufacturer for 10 years writing aircrft maintenance manuals, then worked for US Civil Service as an auditor until final retirement in 1986. Married in 1946, we had two daughters, one passed away in 1990. We have one grandchild, a 22 year old boy who lives in Washington, D.C. He graduated from George sWashington University this past spring. My wife Linda, and I, mostly fill our lives with reading, TV and computer. To get a feel of my early background, read my OD entry titled “Thanksgiving, 1943” . I don’t remember the precise date but its about the 23rd, 24th, or 25th of November this year. Also read an article of mine (with pictures, no less) on the internet. Go to http://www.B-26.com….scan down the list of names to mine, James Womack, and you’ll be there.

December 24, 2006

ryn–I agree completely about wine. Not worth it to me. I know a lot of people find that surprising!

December 24, 2006

Hi and thanks for your note, feel free to come back anytime. Merry Christmas!

December 31, 2006

what fun to explore shops & gallerys. I would love to spend a day like that.