Drawing Class Today

I am exhausted.

Ok, today we had charcoal drawing with a model. First, we had to put our homework self-portraits up on the wall. Next, we put the tables away and got out easels. The model was a young lady in a tankini bathing suit. First we started doing what the instructor called "gesture" drawing–very quick 30 second drawings of various poses. We did twenty of these one after the other.

Next we did an amusing assignment where we had to draw the model with straight lines only which was pretty difficult since she not only had curves but she also had muscles. The objective, of course, was to get us to look really carefully at the curves and muscles.  We did various other sketches {all in charcoal} and as the class went on, the poses got longer and we had to include more detail. After the break we were given some instruction in how to draw hands and feet and had ten minutes to draw the model’s bare feet  and her hands. The final assignment was a reclining pose where the lights were turned out and the model was lighted by a floor lamp. We had to draw her with shadows. Then we got to choose which one of all the ones we had done we wanted to turn in and take it outside and spray it.

I turned in my last one which was quite dramatic. I learned a lot today but I still will not put charcoal at the top of my media choices! Homework is to draw three life-size drawing of our own hand in "expressive gestures." We can use pencil, charcoal or pen. I will not use charcoal.

Thursday we have the model again and the Tuesday after that we have to have our papers on our picture choice ready and we meet at the museum and read our papers to each other in front of our choice of pictures.

I made an A on my self-portrait…

Log in to write a note
June 21, 2005

Cool! I was an art major & drew my hand a lot, but I never was assigned to draw my foot. I’d like to draw my children’s feet before they become totally adult feet.

Well, I thought you would make an A PLUS. Never mind, A is awesome! 🙂 When I was in school we had to do a whole mini-sketchbook with drawings of our hands AND feet. Hands and feet are a challenge. Your description of the life study class sounds VERY familiar.

Shi
June 21, 2005

Congratulations on the A. They were marvelous drawings.

June 21, 2005

no surprise about your A on the self portrait. It was great!

June 21, 2005

Wow, I knew you would get a good grade on that drawing… way to go! That charcoal sounds interesting. WEre you covered in black dust when you got home?

June 21, 2005

yep. like above. Totally familar. I remember rubbing my fingerprints almost gone with charcoal drawings. Give them a chance. They can be particularly striking if you combine them with a sepia wash. It can be your middle value, the charcoal the pure black and pencil the lightest. Or I would reccomend drawing in wet gesso. It almost seems you can “push” it around with the charcoal.

June 21, 2005

you are really doing great in this class. 🙂

June 21, 2005

This class has to be for advanced artists. I remember taking an art class at college and getting a B because I showed up every night and tried. I sucked big time. lol

June 22, 2005

I love hearing about your art exploits and am so happy that you have finally gone back to an activity that was a favourite many moons ago. I am frankly envious of the life drawing you are doing, I’ve not done that since I was in high school and loved the freedom of it – you don’t have time to perfect the piece, just try and capture it in a moment. Great stuff! Glad you are enjoying it so much!

June 22, 2005

I want to see the picture you turned in of the model. I cant believe you havent devoted a lifetime to your art. Your talent is so obvious.

June 22, 2005

Thanks for your note. I’m going to send the email resignation tonight, and deal with the consequences tomorrow! 🙂