Morning Thoughts on Being Happy

I was reading what Weesprite wrote this morning and what Anna wrote on Somekindofacircle and I feel strongly I need to write about how happy I am to be back making art.

 I have not done this kind of thing {drawing and/or painting regularly} for many years and I am wondering why. It makes me very happy. Last night I got a photograph of Fred’s beautiful granddaughter and used it as the basis for a pencil drawing. I have hundreds of pictures of people and things and they are all potential sources for making something that interests and thrills me.

My plan for the next few months is to take another class. I think I should try acrylics since I have no knowledge of how to use them at all {Can you believe that when I was in college full time they weren’t even around?} I will enjoy taking a college class in this. Of course, all this depends on if I can get into the class but since it is an evening class, I am hopeful. And I am also hoping that I will have enough energy to paint from 6 to 9 pm even once a week. I am very much NOT an evening person. but this is the only time this class is offered and I am betting my interest will energize me and carry me through.

And, since Fred {bless his heart} will drive me there and pick me up, I do not have to worry about driving in the Vermont winter. Mind you, if it was not possible for him to do this, I would either try it myself or add the cost of a cab to and from class as the necessary part of the course. At this time in my life, I have no one to spend my money on but myself and if I can’t spend it on what makes me happy, what is it for?

Until later…

Log in to write a note
June 21, 2005

Last night I sat down in front of the mirror and attempted to sketch myself (thanks to you), and it was a nice drawing, but it certainly wasn’t me! LOL!! It’s a lot harder to do than you might think, isn’t it?

June 21, 2005

I love that you through a little “bless his heart” in there…you can tell the south rubbed off on you 🙂

What kinds of things do you like to draw and paint? My younger brother has recently started drawing, and he enjoys it, but he doesn’t do it often because he has low self esteem about it. ~Andy

June 21, 2005

P.S. How do you get Paint Shop Pro to do those pencil drawings that you do? I tried doing a photo and turning it into a sketch to compare with my pencil drawing, like you did, and I couldn’t make it work. I have a manual, but I don’t believe in them. In fact, I don’t even know where it is. LOL!!!

June 21, 2005

So glad you’re so happy with this aspect of your life. 🙂 I find that I feel that way when I have time to work on writing projects, or a new collage 🙂

RYN: Thanks for your note 🙂

i wish i could draw. i have tried and tried and i just get so frustrated. i need to learn to just let it flow and not be so critical of myself.

June 21, 2005

When I think about my future years, and how I want to spend them doing things that bring me happiness, I often think about you and the interesting things you do with your time. This is what I see as being a very fulfilling life, in life’s later stage. And it’s what I hold up as being wonderful! Thanks for sharing your joy in your artwork, once again. hugs, Weesprite

June 21, 2005

Its great to hear how happy you are about this… I think it’s great… art in many forms is such a powerful wonderful way of release… good for you! 🙂

June 21, 2005

hope you are able to get into the class that you want. i am so impressed with your artwork. you’re good. take care,

June 21, 2005

i would like to make art again. it is a wonderfully cheering activity.

Shi
June 21, 2005

So lovely that you have found (gone back to) something that you love.

June 21, 2005

You go girl. It is your money and your life and I so admire you for being extremely active at your age. It is what keeps you young at heart and soul. Take the acrylic class. I still enjoy learning something new even now. I just like to learn new things, which my students did.

June 21, 2005

Personally, I think it’s great that you are doing art. And you are very talented at it as well. That self-portrait is very good.

June 21, 2005

So nice to find something satisfying. I planted a vegetable garden this year and am enjoying it – but we need rain, really bad. It’s too far away to water.

June 21, 2005

Great that you are enjoying the art lessons. I use acryllic all the time. Right now I am painting every Monday morning. I love it.