Getting Some Stuff Done

This morning when I found out that Obama was going to be President for the next four years, I cried. Not, I hasten to add because I dislike Obama or his policies but because Fred would have been SO thrilled and he isn’t here to enjoy it. He really admired Barack Obama {he often referred to him as "that great young man "} and loved hearing about his family as well as mostly agreeing with his policies. I am a legal alien and, therefore, cannot vote, but what pleases me about Obama is that again, for the next four years we have a President who, when he speaks in public does not make me feel embarrassed that he represents this country.

Total change of subject now. I got quite a lot of house cleaning done today. I vacuumed  and mopped the dining room and living room floors and dusted the living room, which I have to tell you really needed it. In fact, the dust was so obvious that I went around first writing "clean me!" on far too many surfaces! I hope to clean the bedroom floor tomorrow. I have no difficulty making the bed every morning but the floor and the two chests of drawers get overlooked. Time to write "Clean me!" on the surfaces of the furniture!

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.

– Neale Donald Walsch

 

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 7, 2012

I can see him nodding in approval up there!

November 7, 2012

Yep, I could write in my furnitures dust also. I was going to dust this afternoon but got a visitor and then forgot. Thanks for the reminder.

November 7, 2012
November 7, 2012

If it weren’t for the housekeeper that I exchange a massage with, my dust would probably need a shovel to clear it out!

November 7, 2012

Yes, just so. Mr. Obama has brains, and he isn’t afraid to use them. I love that in a politician, I do, I do.

I cried too. I didn’t think it would happen this year, and was so relieved when it did. I thought of Fred too, and knew he was smiling down at us.

November 8, 2012

I will always remember that about Fred: how much he liked President Obama, and how much heartfelt CARE and concern he had for the goings-on in this troubled world. (((((huuuuugggggsssss))))) Nicky

November 8, 2012

i’m sure fred would have been very happy. i did a lot of piddling straightening up last night. i had piles of things all over. decided to get rid of some piles and consolidate others. just made the living room look neat. take care,

I am sure Fred is doing the happy dance, whereever he is:) I like the Obama family too…they seem like really nice, down to earth people. The first lady seems like the kind of gal I would have coffee with:)

You know it’s time to dust when you hear the dust mites sneezing right along with you as you wipe down surfaces 🙂

November 8, 2012

Very VERY happy that the US is once again being led by a man of intelligence, integrity, and compassion. I hope some of that will spill over onto my fellow Canadians and we will vote in a person with a similar character in the next election. If ever Americans tire of President Obama, we will take him. A Canadian poll showed that we favour Obama over Romney 3 to 1.

November 9, 2012

*hugs*

I don’t understand American politics but I am glad it made you happy.