How We Met {Last Part}

So, here I am back in Mississippi having to beak the news to my two sons that I am going to live in Vermont with a man I met on line…

When my older son was 21, his “little brother” was born. The quotes are there because it is a family joke. This little brother is 6 feet 8 inches and towers 8 inches above his big brother. The hard part was telling the older son. He had lost his first wife to an online affair she had with the man she eventually married.

He quizzed me in a way that definitely raised my hackles, as if *I* was the child and he was the parent. He seemed to be under the impression that this man I was going to live with was a fortune hunter {not that I have a fortune} and he seemed considerably relieved to find out that we had already discussed money matters in detail. He asked me where I would be buried if I died in Vermont and I said I hadn’t thought much about that and did he have any suggestions? I actually, as I told him, planned to be cremated and have no concerns about where the remains are put. He asked if I would have them shipped to him and he would have them interred in a place where he could go to and think of me. We both cried and I told him that of course I would. He then hugged me and wished me good luck which I appreciated.

My younger son was 21 at the time and just out of the Army. He was much more laid back about the whole thing, perhaps because he had agreed to drive from Mississippi to Vermont with me and meet my partner. I had agreed to pay his way back to Mississppi.And, perhaps because he got all the furniture my older son didn’t want! The younger son was a big help to me as he packed up the kitchen, single-handedly. My ex also allowed my younger son to store all this furniture and kitchen stuff in a barn on the property he owns adjacent to mine. This was a big help because I did not have to pay storage fees as was my original plan. Of course, my ex didnt do this for me; he did it for our younger kid who is the apple of his eye.

I hired Tanya’s half brother to help me organize everything I was going to dispose of and called the trash pickup company and told them that there would be more than usual to pick up and did I need to pay them more. {The answer was no} Then I gave away two truckloads of books to a teacher friend {I had lived in that house 18 years and am an avid collector} and as much furniture as I could persuade my neighbors to take! I sold two beds, my guitar, a freezer, the refrigerator {to Tanya who was buying the house}and I left the treadmill for Tanya because I really didn’t have time to clean the place as I had planned to, and I knew she wanted it. On the Saturday before I was going to leave on the Sunday, I assembled a group of men with strong backs to move the furniture I was giving my younger son up to the barn. To my amazement, my exhusband turned up and helped. That night, I slept at a friend’s house and the next morning, my kid and I, with the car stuffed full of necessities {including my computer!} left Mississippi for Vermont.

Log in to write a note
June 23, 2002

This is so interesting…and inspiring to me! I think I will add you to my favorites and will have to catch up. I wish you a wonderful future!

Wow. I had a friend whose husband left her for a woman he met online but to be honest with you this guy was a loser from the get go and she was bettre off without him. On the other hand my little sister Punk just married and had a baby with a man she met through a dating service on the net. It isn’t all bad. I have several penpals in other countries & love them to death, but I wouldn’t marry them

Patricia, I love that you took advantage of the Chapters feature as soon as it became available. I can’t wait to come back and read the whole story of your romance and friendship with Fred, all in one place. Right now I should get busy and make the turkey stuffing. Happy Thanksgiving!

November 29, 2003

Hats off to you.Atlast I found another proof of my ageing belief–that sex never fades,luv is evergreen and technology is meant for all. U have taken advantage of all this–and i luv u for that.What an inspiration–adding u to my favs.

PPM
November 29, 2003

You are an inspiration. I hope someday I will be as fortunate as you to meet someone special. I guess age really doesn’t matter. Smiles…..

Good for you…risk taking may pay off big time for you. And as far as the my elephant in the room…it’s not cancer…it’s that my guy is married. Which is pretty sucky…

Wow. Talk about starting over again. We were neighbors! Not anymore, but we used to be…I’m in AL. 🙂 Love you,

PEN
December 2, 2003

I hope there is more to come – sounds like you took an interesting risk and ended with a wonderful adventure.

December 2, 2003

What an interesting story this was. I love looking back at the older entries and seeing how a person became what they are. I might use the chapter function myself..

December 2, 2003

This is marvellous. I love reading stories like this. I have washed my hands of any possibility of having a partner again but now I wonder!!

Darling Patrisha! You’re already on my list. You’re a great person and I love reading about your life. Thank you for the compliment.

December 2, 2003

What a beautiful story…

December 12, 2003

Hi, I really need to get my computer fixed so I can read all of your diary. I enjoyed reading your account of meeting Fred!! Very interesting, and inspiring too.

December 14, 2003

I followed your name from Mezzo’s diary and just read your story about how you met your husband. I met my boyfriend (hopefully someday husband) through OD and I love hearing other other people’s online love stories too! Take care,

January 11, 2004

wow, i think that’s amazing! (and romantic- but that’s because i’m a softy for things like that!) i’ve lived in mississippi most of my life. i like it here for the most part, but john and i have talked about moving to new england one day. but that’s a dream in the very far off future!

February 7, 2004

thanks for this story… I had wondered how Fred fit into your life…. I think it is great that you found happiness……..:)

What a great story. 🙂

I gain stregth and courage to continue my life with Todd from reading this! You inspire me to continue on my quest for happiness!

February 25, 2004

Ive just read this story and I am breathless. It is beautiful and thank you for sharing! new picture on my diary page. cheers!

I finally came back to read the rest of your love story. Wow! This is a real adventure!! I can’t get over someone in her sixties (as I am)having the guts to do this. Frankly, I don’t think I would.

May 28, 2004

Thanks for putting the link to this chapter in your last entry. I had no idea that you and Fred met on the internet. Like me and Rob! Would you consider marrying him or are you both content to keep it as it is with an attitude of “been there, done that, no need to repeat it”?

So interesting. Thanks for the invitation to read.

November 23, 2004

hi,just wanted to know how you get chapters in your diary.i want some,lol

November 23, 2004

oh,i found out! have a great day!

I just read all this chapter. What an edventure!

I bet an an English teacher you are thinking “Man, HIS BABY GIRL needs some help!” Sorry about that. Adventure is what I meant 🙂

MRS
March 4, 2005

What a nice story

wow. that so interesting!

March 27, 2005

I admire how you handled you new relationship and the thought and effort you put into the move. I imagine we are alike in this, i like things, to be in order. Thanks for sharing this. So sorry it took me so long to read this lol

April 9, 2005

How FANTASTIC!! I’m thrilled to read this, and so pleased you came to my diary. I, too, met my husband online, and it was in 1998 that we got married – now we’re celebrating 7 yrs, and our daughter is going to be 4 in June. 🙂 If you do things carefully, the Internet can be a wonderful too for meeting people! Hugs!

April 12, 2005

that was really interesting 🙂 hope all is good! sarah xx

such a great story. 🙂

June 22, 2005

What a great story!

August 2, 2005

wow. i just read this entire chapter. that is very cool. =)

November 18, 2005

I got caught up in your diary today! I think it somehow started w/Starting Over-Boxer-Fred-you. It went something like that, atleast! I love this story. I think you really must be an amazing woman. 🙂

October 2, 2006

so exciting!!! I met my honey online, too 🙂

November 11, 2006

WOW! Thanks for pointing me in the right direction to read the story. The Internet is indeed a phenomenon that has changed most of our lives. Of course you might remember that i met a man online and had an affair….ANYWAY, i’m glad you met Fred and the two of you are happy together, and that you like Vermont…..i really enjoy reading your diary!

June 24, 2012

I got to thinking about when I first started reading you, so I’ve been going through some old entries that I don’t think I ever read. This is great! It makes me realize how far you’ve come and how much we’ve all changed over the years. Love these older entries.