Later Today

Something quite interesting happened at physical therapy today.

After I had finished squats and pliès, Candace brought a squishy foam pad for me to stand on and I had to do an exercise that involved moving my full weight from one leg to the other. Now, this is one I don’t do at home and when I have done it at the PT place, up to today, I have always had to hold on to something because I felt the left leg might collapse under me. So, today I started shifting weight from one side to the other and I suddenly realized I wasn’t clutching onto the bar I used for support as much as I used to. So I lifted my hands and just used the index fingers for balance. That worked so I lifted my hands entirely and was able to shift weight from one leg to the other using only the toe of the opposite foot for balance. Silly though this sounds, this little victory cheered me immensely. I know that physical therapy improves  the body only slowly. {And if I didn’t know it before, Candace has told me so many times that this is a "journey, not a race" that I DO know it now! } But it seems to me that perhaps in this last week, there has been a spurt foreward– a little spurt, but a spurt nonetheless.

When I got home, Fred was still out buying groceries so I stayed off the bed until he came back with the stuff he had bought.  When he got here, I went out and got the lighter bags and he carried the heavier ones into the kitchen and I put everything awys. THEN, I went and collapsed on the bed!

Tomorrow I will wash clothes and study Italian. I cannot work on my ceramic assignment because there is no open studio on Saturday. However, I can work on Sunday morning and I will. And the studio is also open on Monday all day so I can have a couple of hours there, too.

I am ridiculously pleased about this small improvement in my legs!

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
January 25, 2008

🙂 🙂 🙂 – – – –

Oh, this is FABULOUS news!!! I know how important “little” steps can be. I’m thrilled for you!

January 25, 2008

This is not a small improvement. This is a great improvement in the small muscles deep in the joints, and the ligaments and tissues. Those are all the things that have control that you have been missing. Congratulations!!! Now you will grow in leaps and bounds. Your strength and endurance will greatly improve. enjoy and have fun…dan

January 25, 2008

Glad things are going so well 🙂

January 25, 2008

Yay! It sounds like a big improvement to me, not a tiny one – you went from hanging on for grim death to not having to hold the rail at all. 🙂 Yay Patricia! (huggles)

great news!! I wish E had recovered from his hip surgery as well. I think you must have mucg better therapists! Hugs, M

January 25, 2008

Hooray for baby steps! And balancing is still hard for me, even after all these years of trying to master it. That’s a terrific victory!

January 26, 2008

I’m so glad you’ve seen big improvement this week!! I figure, in a slow process, there is ALWAYS improvement even when we can’t even notice it….so any that you can actually notice counts as “big”! :o) !! And I hope you have a lovely day today! hugs, Weesprite

🙂 I understand that. Well done you!

Pat
January 26, 2008

You SHOULD be pleased! That’s a great accomplishment! (((Hugs)))

Hurrah for you! I’m so glad that you are seeing the improvement.

January 26, 2008

This is wonderful news. I am so excited and happy for you. This is a huge step forward.

YAY for the improvement!!!

January 27, 2008

I’m not sure I’ve mentioned it, but I really really LOVE my subscription to Scrapbooks Etc. that you got for me. It is amazing amazing amazing.

Your exercise reminds me of ballet for some reason. I think small victories are always the way to go because life starts with those little steps.