Lists {Mostly}

This really feels like a day I haven’t done much–so, what, exactly, have I done.

  • I did my usual dishwashing of the dishes used  yesterday.
  • I read a lot of delicious recipes from my two new bread-machine cook books but since we still have most of a crisp-crust white loaf and a sunflower and some-other-seed-I-can’t-remember left, I didn’t make any more bread today.
  • I went to the grocery store mainly to deposit my refund from the radiologist check but bought a few things like gluten for my new bread-making adventures!
  • I went for a 30 minute walk this morning.
  • This afternoon I walked down to the senior center to enquire about the art classes but it was all locked up. I will walk back down there tomorrow morning.

Tomorrow I need to:

  • Go for a walk
  • Go up to school to read with Nick
  • Call Robin and ask her if anyone in her house is allergic to nuts. I was going to make her a nut loaf but if I can’t get hold of her, I will make her brown bread instead. I see her again on Friday.
  • Count the trip hill to the school and downhill to home as my second walk of the day.
  • Check on the art classes at the senior center

I have been having a little problem with this new bread machine in that the container doesn’t seem to want to stay in place. A few days ago,  I made a whole-wheat nut loaf and the dough was very “solid” until I added a smidgin more of water but , before I did this, the machine was banging a lot. Now Fred has been telling me that I am not being careful enough about clicking the container  down into the bottom, but, hey, I have been doing this for some time and I am sure I am doing it correctly. The last time I made bread,  it finally occurred to me that since the pan always shifts on one side, the same side, it must be something to do with the clip. So, I pulled it out just a tiny bit and voila!—no more shifting and banging! This machine has a “Pause” button and then hitting “Start” picks up the program at the place it stopped which has been a big help {until I figured out why the container was slipping} because I had to keep stopping the program and readjusting the container.

One thing I learned from reading these two new books is that sometimes a machine which is touted as able to make a two-pound load isn’t really big enough for this. And the way to tell is to measure how many cups of water it takes to fill the pan. To make a 2 pound loaf, the pan must have the capacity to hold 13 cups of water. So, I measured mine and , yes, it does hold 13 cups.

Until later…

 

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2005

My mom has an extra bread machine… I keep meaning to bring it back to school with me so I can make bread. I love bread.

March 30, 2005

I didn’t know that. I do know that I will buy one now… I want to start this bread making!

March 30, 2005

I am so afraid that if I get a bread machine I will spend all my time making and EATING bread!

March 30, 2005

okay, I probably should get the bread machine out again. 🙂

Mmmm…bread.

Shi
March 30, 2005
March 30, 2005

I wish I owned a bread machine except that I doubt I would ever use it. But maybe just ‘in case’. lol You still get more done in one day then I seem to get done in a week.

March 30, 2005

mmmm….I wish you wouldn’t keep mentioning home made bread…mmmm.. Hope you get into the art class okay…. live, love, laugh and be happy

March 30, 2005

I think you do a lot already. And do let me know if you take any art classes.

March 30, 2005

I too would love a bread maker, but they are so large, would be hard to find somewhere for it to live. I am always afrad that it would not get the use it deserves. Then i would feel so guilty for wasting earths resources. yip i am nuts lol Enjoy you home made bread you certainly derserve it Best Wishes

Dear Patricia, you inspired me to bring my bread machine up from the basement. I still haven’t made a loaf of bread and I’ve taken the machine back downstairs. Woe is me – I am so lazy.

March 31, 2005

I want to get a bread machine, too! When we get home(oh, blessed day that shall be!!), that is going on my list of things to-do. Here’s wishing you a lovely day today; we are heading for New Hampshire and then, tomorrow morning, home. hugs and blessings, Weesprite

March 31, 2005

i’m afraid i’d make the bread and eat it, too. can’t seem to lose weight if i eat bread. i took merlyn for two walks yesterday after i saw at the vet’s that he had gained 2# over the winter. take care,

March 31, 2005

Patricia, you have to stop this talk of bread!!! I want a loaf!!

March 31, 2005

I never have used a bread machine, I like to make my bread by hand. But I’ve heard they are very good. Bye for now.

March 31, 2005

just thought i would leave you a note since we border states lol! good luck with the bread making 😀