New Bookshelf & Other Stuff

My plan for  today is to go out to get a book case for our bedroom. Actually, we have one and and it is full of books but then I have DVDs piled up on there too. So, what I mainly want the bookcase for is DVDs. I reminded myself this morning that I still have some DVDs I didn’t finish watching when I was in the I-Gotta-Have-Every-Star-Trek-DVD-Ever-Made mood! I tend to get crazes and then go off them for a while but I eventually DO go back.

Right now I am back on photography and programs to change the pictures. I can spend hours on this as I did yesterday. I made at least a dozen versions of the upside-down tomato but only came out with two I decided to keep.  {If you haven’t seen them and want to, they are back one entry.} My usual method these days to learn something new is to jump in and see what I can do by myself first. This is followed by tutorials. I am still at the playing around stage with Corel Painter Essentials and  Adobe Photoshop Elements. Jumping in and playing around and THEN doing tutorials is perhaps not the best way for most people to learn, but it does seem to be the way *I* learn best.

Last night, Fred and I went out to eat at our local diner. Fred’s daughters have been buying him gift certificates for this place and we enjoy using them. Fred had scallops and I had a chiliburger. I get a lot of eye-rolls when I get a burger of one kind or another but, hey, that is what I want so that’s what I get! We also had dessert which we don’t usually have. I had blackberry crisp. I love blackberries even though they leave my teeth full of pips! I was offered ice cream to go with it but I said no. However, I did go with the cream suggestion.

Thinking about going out today, I am reminded it is Saturday and everyone who works during the week will be out there today. I may put off my trip until Monday. {You can do that sort of thing when you are retired! }

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

"Fear not for the future, weep not for the past."

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English poet

 

Log in to write a note

Mmmm, a chili buger and blackberry crisp! What can be better than that? Hugs, M

July 12, 2008

I am so glad for retirement – I can do my traveling to places where kids might be if they weren’t in school!

July 12, 2008

I have a feeling retirement will be busier than ever. I’m so impressed with all the stuff you spend your time learning. You just seem to love learning!

Pat
July 12, 2008

Oh, blackberries are my favorite! My husband and I used to go in hunt of wild blackberry vines and it was like a treasure hunt. I absolutely adore them! I try my best to not go out shopping on Saturday (even when I was working) for that very reason! I did go out this morning, but it wasn’t too bad since it was early morning and the worker bees were sleeping…LOL! Have a wonderful weekend! Enjoy your learning! (((Hugs)))

July 12, 2008

Some of the restaurants have such scrumptious burgers…. OF COURSE people are meant to order them! :o) !! A scrumptious restaurant-burger can be just as much a delight as anything else on the menu (those people who look at you askance should try it sometime!) :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

July 12, 2008

Retirement – One of the best things ever invented. 🙂 – – – –

July 12, 2008

Crisps are wonderful. Especially with a dash of cream.

Hi Patrisha, I used to have you on my favorites list on another diary I’ve had but I got a new diary and wanted to let you know I’m adding you to my new diary favorites list if that’s okay so I can keep reading your entries–Christy Price

Thanks for your note about the eye treatment…. that is very reassuring!

I’m not a bit dessert eater either but that blackberry crisp sounds delicious.

July 15, 2008

RYN. I’m not sure exactly when I’ll hear the results, but it will likely be sometime next week.