What I Did

I have mailed out two of my pastel painting to my children { look here  and here } and bought another picture from here. The one I have bought is the rainy-day-over-the-city one in the bottom-right-hand corner. I loved it the minute I saw it because although it is obviously not a real city, it really has the atmosphere of a city in the rain and took me right back to my childhood and one of my pleasures of watching the rain fall at night. I have been wanting one of his paintings for a while and this is a Christmas present to myself. He is mailing it from England after Christmas.
After  I went our to the UPS store this morning to mail the two pictures, I crossed the road to the University Mall and wandered around there for a while. I had a slice of Sbarro’s vegetarian cheese and mushroom pizza as I usually do . No, I am not a vegetarian but my sister was and I was always sampling vegetarian dishes so I could tell her that this one is good. And since she died, it has become a rite, I guess, to eat mushroom pizza and think of her. Then I went to shoe shops with a sort of idea that I would like to buy some boots. Well, although there are certainly more than there used to be, there really isn’t much of a choice in a women’s size 11!  I looked at a couple that had lovely elegant high heels, but these days I am all for comfort and, in the end, although I tried on boots up and down the mall, I bought nothing. Basically, I don’t need boots. I have a pair of walking-in-the-snow boots and that is all I would use them for. When I got home, there was email from la prof saying that our grades will be available tomorrow on line. And that she has put work she hadn’t finished grading by the last class day in her box and we can pick it up starting tomorrow. I am interested to read her comments on my five-page paper {in English.} She always comments which I approve of because I was a teacher who always commented, also.  So, I will use the picking up of my papers  as an excuse to wander up and down Church Street Market Place tomorrow in the free parking hours…

Number of steps walked today: 5211

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note
December 21, 2006

Sbarro’s mushroom pizza is my favorite. So good. It’s really neat that you honor your sister in your everyday living. I like that.

December 21, 2006

I like that painting, too, and also the one that was next to it. And I like that you still enjoy eating those foods and thinking of your sister… I often think of my brother when I walk in the woods, since that was one of his favorite things to do. I do hope you can find some boots you like! I wouldn’t buy boots with high heels either….in fact, after my painful day at Dennis’ funeral in the heels I have, I’ve decided to NEVER wear heels again. I shall buy flats, and not care what anyone thinks of it! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

December 21, 2006

High heeled snow boots baffle me. What a contradiction in terms! 🙂 Be well,

December 21, 2006

Before I looked at the title of the page, I thought to myself, “Huh. This looks just like something Tall Guy would draw.” LOL! Imagine my surprise. Good choice.

Getting yourself a Christmas present is a great idea. 🙂

December 21, 2006

RYN: Good idea! Thanks!

I’m all about comfort too. 🙂 *hugs*

December 21, 2006

i love the artwork, yours and the city in the rain too. i also love the idea of eating veggie pizza and thinking of your sister. Which reminds me, i have to call my brother tonight and find out once and for all what’s going on Christmas eve…

It’s nice that you do something to remember your sister. I can’t imagine not having my sister around…

December 21, 2006

Your children are lucky to have a such a creative gift for Christmas. Wish someone put that much thought into a gift for me! How does it feel to go from being the teacher to the student?

I really like the guys artwork…good choice.

I see that your stamina is increasing. You are walking a bit further every day.

RYN: Thanks. Your perspective helps. I too regret that little voice holding me back/down so many times.

December 22, 2006

I hope you have a pedometer or something … counting more than five thousand steps would be sort of boring and would also tend to distract you from smelling the roses along the way. Not that there are very many roses in Vermont in December! 🙂 Have a wonderful holiday!

December 22, 2006

It is nice to have those nice memories of our loved ones. I think that is what the holiday brings to us also. And maybe why we get so down. I think alot of those I have lost over the years and it brings wonderful memories.

December 22, 2006

RYN: Thanks for filling in the blank in Fourth’s title. Now I see how appropriate it is, assuming the reader knows the reference.

December 22, 2006

I like some vegetarian foods. I think I had some weird egg plant thing one time and it wasn’t that bad.

December 31, 2006

bravo for all the steps walked. I remember your “what you’ve learned” point of getting & staying in good health & you definitely are doing just that. I hope your grades & the comments are right on the mark & delight you to no end.