An evening with Mr. Frampton, Journey, and Def Leppard

Last night’s big concert was even bigger than I thought it was going to be. I had thought it was going to be just Journey and Def Leppard, but found out only two days before the show that Peter Frampton was going to be performing as well. The show was also bumped up from 7pm to start at 6:15pm, so it was going to be a long, noisy night. After walking around the city all day, Ethan and I were pleased to sit back and relax for a bit before the show finally started.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a huge fan of Peter Framtpon, but based on what I saw last night… I might have to look into that. I recognized more than a few songs as his act went on, so I was more of a fan of his stuff than I realized.

Here is the set list of the songs we heard from Mr. Framption:

1. Something’s Happening

2. Show Me The Way

3. Black Hole Sun
(Soundgarden Cover)

4. Baby, I Love Your Way

5. Do You Feel Like We Do

6. I Want You To Love Me
(Humble Pie Song)

He played for about forty minutes before calling it a day, and it was a great way to open the show. A lot of people were still arriving, obviously unaware of the new start time, but the place was filling up more as the night went on.

So after a half hour of clearing and setting up the next act for the stage, the next act to rock the dome was Journey.  I was aware of Journey’s new front man, and was still in awe of how amazing he sounds when he started singing. His voice was spot on to the previous singer for the band, and they rocked the dome as the fans had no trouble getting into the act. Here is the set list for what Journey performed last night:

1. Separate Ways (Worlds Apart)

2. Only the Young

3. Be Good to Yourself

4. Stone in Love

5. Escape

6. Any Way You Want

7. Lights

8. Open Arms

9. Who’s Crying Now

10. La Do Da

11. O Canada
(guitar cover)

12. Wheel in the Sky

13. Faithfully

14. Don’t Stop Believin’

Encore:

15. Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin’

When Journey was finished, we had to wait another 30 minutes for Def Leppard to get set up and then they took the stage around 9:30pm.

Like I had stated in a previous entry, I had been listening to Def Leppard since I first got my hands on the Hysteria cassette thirty years ago when I was only a young teenager. I played that tape until it broke, and ended up buying a CD of it a few years later. So to see the band all these years later, especially after trying to see them before and not succeeding was pretty cool, especially since I got to share the moment with Ethan.

So here is the set list from what we heard from Def Leppard last night:

1. Rocket

2. Animal

3. Foolin’

4. When Love and Hate Collide

5. Let’s Get Rocked

6. Armageddon It

7. Rock On
(David Essex cover)

8. Two Steps Behind

9. Man Enough

10. Love Bites

11. Bringin’ on the Heartbreak

12. Switch 625

13. Hysteria

14. Pour Some Sugar on Me

Encore:

15. Rock of Ages

16. Photograph

My ears are still ringing but that was so worth it. A lot of great hits played that night, and despite being tired from all the walking we did that day.. Ethan was a good sport at the concert, and I can tell he really liked some of the songs.. some more than others.

Overall, Ethan and I had a great day in Toronto and were dead tired after busing back to Hamilton and then home. We came back through the door around 1am, which is about almost sixteen hours after we walked out it that morning. My step meter clocked close to 20 thousand steps that day, so the little guy and I will be taking it easy today, and just have an R & R day today.

So that was the epic concert at the dome… pretty sweet, eh?

Peter

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 2, 2018

Awesome!

June 2, 2018

gotta love Frampton!!!!

sounds like a fun day for you both!

June 3, 2018

very cool. I actually don’t know a lot about Peter Frampton tbh. I often know more songs than I think I do from an artist once I look further into things though.