Another great show to watch…

With Dexter and Californication over for another season, I was hoping for something decent to start mid-season to pick things up for me. So when I heard that FOX was starting a new show that starred Tim Roth who played Mr. Orange in Reservoir Dogs and was nominated for an Oscar for his more than sinister role of Archibald Cunningham in Rob Roy… based on that and a very smart concept, I wanted to check this one out. After checking out the pilot, I’m committed to watch at least a few more shows to see if the other episodes are as amazing as the first one was. Here is a promo video of the show I watched on Wednesday, titled ‘Lie To Me’:

Like I said it’s a very facinating premise and while on the surface it looked like a ‘Mentalist’ wannabe, I was pleased to see when I watched the show that it’s much, much different and was highly entertaining. I liked the show’s approach to how the characters used facial expressions as a sign of what a person was really saying despite their words. Here’s an interesting clip of the show I saw on Wednesday:

Very amusing, and the show runs like that throughout the program. Very witty and cute dialogue as well, something that made the subjects of the program easier to go with. Here’s another interesting clip from the same episode when the characters are talking about a politician who is accused of having an a relationship with a prostitute:

I really enjoyed watching ‘Lie To Me’ and since this comes on at the same time as another show Leah and I love watching, Criminal Minds, but thankfully my DVR will take care of that issue and I’ll set one of them to a series record and watch the other during the boring days when there’s nothing to watch. That’s what I love about my Digital Video Recorder, it lets me dictate my schedule and when I watch my shows… not the other way around.

So based on what I saw, I think FOX might have other hit on their hands. It did well in the ratings this week, finishing second in it’s time slot at 9pm on Wednesday… losing out only to Criminal Minds. Rather surprising that ABC’s long promoted and hyped primere of ‘Lost’ fell flat on its face and finished 3rd in the same slot. I smell a cancellation. I never got into that show, and from the complaints I am hearing about it from fans that do watch it, the show is getting more fucked up each season it goes.

Well, at least I got something new to watch until ‘In Treatment’ starts in April and that will hold me off until Season 4 of Dexter. Combine that with a new season of Battlestar Galactica and CSI with a new cast member (Lawrence Fishbourne), this will make for some interesting viewing. Well that’s it from here for now. Hope everyone has a great Friday and I’ll be around! Until then, take care…

Peter

Log in to write a note
January 23, 2009

RANDOM NOTER: I watched this show too. And I LOVED it!

January 23, 2009

The new Lost was amazing. One of the best two hours of television i’ve seen in forever. I had nearly given up on Lost a few seasons ago but the last few years they have really pulled it together. Gives me hope that they can fix Heroes after last seasons debacle.

January 23, 2009

ryn: that is definitely the problem with shows such as Lost. If they don’t maintain nearly their entire fanbase they have nowhere to go but down, as it’s nearly impossible to just jump in if you are new to the show. I thought the previews for Lie to Me looked interesting, but actually forgot all about it. Of course I have no DVR so it wouldn’t have made any difference had I remembered.

January 24, 2009

RYN: Thank you darling Lee Mee xXx

January 25, 2009

I wanted to catch that one, but there was no way it could compete with the season premiere of Lost!