Farewell Dear Lila

Early this morning, my Grandma passed away.

My Dad’s Mom, named Lila was a sweet lady and she will be missed by many. She was 95, so you know she lived a full life. The fact that she is survived by 4 children, 11 grandkids and 7 great-grandkids might also testify to that as well.

She had fallen into a coma a few days ago, so we knew it was only a matter of time. Truth was, she mentally checked out over a year ago and the body just finally caught up today. After being here less than two weeks ago for the holiday, Mom & Dad are flying back in on Saturday, and the viewing/funeral are on Monday and they’ll fly back to Tennessee on Tuesday.

She was the only grandparent I had known from my Dad’s side of the family. My Grandfather, the person who I am named after had passed on more than a decade before I was even born. I always liked Grandma Lila, as she was a kind and caring person that anyone would love to call their nanny.

It will be a sad day on Monday, but I’m sure people will remember her well and in the end I guess that counts for something. Leah and I are going to take the kids to the viewing to meet with everyone, but after that Leah and the kids are going home and I’ll join everyone for the funeral.

Hate to be such a bummer, but that’s the biggest thing that had dominated my thinking today. Take care and everyone have a decent hump day… the weekend is right around the corner!

Peter

Log in to write a note
January 9, 2008

Saw you on the front page – so sorry to hear about your grandmother.

January 9, 2008

May she rest in peace. Sending wishes for peace and comfort to you and your family.

*hugs* I’m sorry to hear that. I know it’s hard even when they’ve had a great life.

CW
January 9, 2008

I am sorry for your loss, but it does sound like you were truly blessed to have her in your life, and it sounds like she had a pretty good life as well. {{hugs}} =;p

January 9, 2008

you and your family have my heartfelt sympathies, hugs and take care

January 9, 2008

Lila: off on her further adventures in the Universe.

January 9, 2008

I’m very sorry for your loss.

January 9, 2008

I’m very sorry for your loss and that of your family. I lost my grandmother a year ago December 1st and even when you can anticipate the loss, it does not make it any easier. I will be wishing you peace and comfort…take care.

January 10, 2008

My sympathies, Peter. *hugs*