Good news and bad news kind of entry…

Yesterday I went to meet my new family doctor. A very close friend of my father pulled some strings a month ago and got us in for this doctor and I met him yesterday. For the purposes of this diary, I’m going to call him what everyone else calls him: Dr. Steve. So my first appointment with Dr. Steve was a good one. I got to meet the man and then dump this whole possible brain bleed from emerg thing that I’ve been dealing with on his lap. Not the best way to make a first impression, but he took it well and went with it and did his best to relieve some fears I had coming out of Emerg. Based on my meeting with Dr. Steve, this is I learned:

– The Good News: Based on the symptoms and the story I told him, he doesn’t think that the brain has a bleed. I’m missing major symptoms and while it’s still possible, he said it’s very low on the list of causes of what’s going on.

– The Bad News: He was a little disappointed that Emerg didn’t use dye during the CAT and says that we can’t rule out an aneurism just yet. We’ll need to look more into that, with Neurology later.

– He also wasn’t impressed with the six month wait for Neurology. He’s going to call them up to bump that up. He said that if they don’t give him a date he’s happy with, he’ll contact other departments like it that might give him something more to his satisfaction.

– My blook pressure is still very, very high. I thought this was a fluke from emerg, but it was still high when checked yesterday. My family has a high history of this stuff, but my pressure has always been soo good, and not it’s all out of whack.

– To help with that pressure, I’ve been assigned some medication to get it under control and have been asked to do a few things to help it out like loose a little weight and cut down on caffine. I want to do both of those to begin with so we’re on the same page.

– He’s not saying there isn’t anything wrong in my head, just need to look further before jumping to conclusions which is I guess what Emerg did. But he did applaud what emerg did that day and said they did what they should have done face with that situation.

So in all it was a very, very good appointment with Dr. Steve. I’m going to get a call with a much earlier appointment with Neurology and I’ll go back to see my new doctor in a few weeks. It was a great appointment and I feel good knowing that he’s on the case and will work hard to help get better and over what’s going on right now. So that was my Tuesday, I hope everyone is having a good hump day and I’ll be around!

Peter

Log in to write a note
June 27, 2007

hope everything turns out ok!!! (random noter) you’re in my prayers.

June 27, 2007

I await they day they examine your head and don’t find anything. 🙂

Heh, thank God you got to pull some strings and see another doctor so early.

June 27, 2007

good to hear you were able to get a family doctor, it’s so hard these days to find one, nevermind a good one, I’m glad he sounds like he’s on the ball and that he will work to get things done, take care of yourself

June 27, 2007

It sounds as though you’ve found a great doctor. I’m happy to hear that you don’t have the major symptoms for brain-bleeding, so hopefully it’s something else that’s much less serious. But I think you’re right to remain cautious until they find out for sure, just to be on the safe side. Keep us posted. *hugs*

June 27, 2007

Good for you that you didn’t wait and it looks like this doctor will be taking really good care of you! Take the meds and work at the other stuff…high blood pressure could be contributing to your symptoms. 🙂 I wish you well!

June 27, 2007

Hey! Glad you liked the new doctor, he sounds like a keeper! I was wondering when you first wrote if the blood pressure could be behind all of this, as it can cause symptoms like yours, but I figured since you said it was a fluke… hopefully that’s all it is, and your meds get it under control for good. You gotta stay on top of HBP though, it can do all sorts of bad. Hang in there! xoxoxo

June 29, 2007

Glad to hear that it’s not a sure thing with the bleed thing. Let’s just hope that the CAT scans come out alright.