Happy ‘Mustard Salad’ 4th Of July…

As promised (but a smige late), here is an entry dedicated to the Mustard Salad that I made for the 4th of July. I started cooking the salad around 9am, and finished around 10, and left it in the fridge to cool until 3pm, because it tastes better when given time to settle. But rather than post some photos with the recipe… I thought for this special holiday and since I’m in the US today, I’d go a step further:

With that, my first online video diary… here is the offical recipe as given to me from Leah:

Mustard Salad:

– 6 decent sized potatoes

– half a white onion diced

– three-four table spoons of Mayo

– four to five tablespoons of Mustard

– two or three tablespoons of sugar

That’s it… nothing earth shattering there. You boil the potatoes, you mash them up, yes… MASH THEM UP. After the mashing, you add the mayo, diced onion and sugar and mix them up. If not creamy enough, add a bit more mayo. Then you add the Mustard which gives the salad some kick as well as its funky yellow colour. And like I said above, you let it sit in the fridge because it’s best served cold,

When finished it should look something like this…

That’s the best I can do to help you out, I know this entry is a smige late… but I had constraints to work around. Some realistic, some unrealistic. It happens. I really hope everyone had a good 4th. This was my first 4th of July celebrated inside the US, and it was quite an experience. Saw a lot of fireworks, hung around a lot of nice people and got quite trashed. 🙂

I’ll post more details in the next entry… until then, take care!

Peter

Log in to write a note
July 5, 2008

Do you have to use hot dog mustard, or could you use Dijon instead?

July 5, 2008

I enjoyed watching your demos! Food network-worthy stuff there! It goes against all I believe in to MASH potatoes for potato salad, but I’ll bet it did go well with bbq.

very interesting….something my mustand addicted oldest son would love (minus the onions, because he’s a wimp like that tee hee hee) sounds like a great day for you!

July 5, 2008

Mustard lovers will adore it.

CW
July 5, 2008

I LOVE the idea of this salad! I will have to make it sometime, since I do NOT care for regular potato salad. I am sure it was a huge success! =;p

July 5, 2008

This unfortunately has two of my least favorite foods in the world… but I bet if I liked onions and mayonnaise, it would be awesome! 🙂 And come on, the Reds???

July 6, 2008

I like how you called miracle whip THIS and not mayo. Its not mayo!!!

*Random Noter – Recipe Circle* Sounds really good & I want to try it. However I’m allergic to onions (the liquid), but I’m able to use dry minced onion OR onion powder. Do you think it would taste any different if I used that instead. Also how much would you recommend for the substitution?