Keeping cool, making plans… doing my thing

It’s a bit of a scorcher out there today. It’s also Monday, which means I watch Jonathan today because the little guy doesn’t have school on Mondays with his new program. I don’t mind watching him cause a little extra one on one time with my little guy is always a good thing.

Since it’s so warm today, rather than just hang out with him at his mother’s place, I brought him up to my place. It’s supposed to be 33 degrees today but feel like 41, so we’re at my place because Dad’s apartment has central air and we’re cool as cucumbers here. My home is his home so I had no problems bringing them up here, and while I was at it I took the kids laundry. I don’t pay to do my clothes here so since I’m here with Jon, I did the kid’s laundry so that’s less money and effort Leah has to make, especially on hot days like today.

The party on Saturday went rather well, despite the fact that I never gave much notice, we had a decent turnout. A good group of people came and we drank, ate food and swam in the pool. Lots of water, friends and alcohol and everyone home safely when it was all said and done. After all that fun, I’ve decided that I am definitely going to hold one more pool party before the summer ends. Maybe more depending on how that interview went last week. I haven’t heard back yet, but I’m hoping to soon.

Things are good here in the hammer, and regardless of what happens later today… I got things to do and plans to keep. I’m keeping myself busy and I’m going to have to try a little hard to find things to do when I don’t feel like writing because my 10 week seminar (level 2) for those who are coping with divorce/separation just ended last week. I’m making an effort to find more social things to do since the next siminar (level 3) doesn’t start until September. I did benefit greatly from attending the seminar, despite the fact that level 2 was a tad more preachy than level 1, but I was able to get over that.

One cool thing I am looking forward to dinner/drinks with a group of Atheists on June 5th. There is a group of them here in the city meeting to hang out and share a few drinks and some food at one of my favorite pubs downtown, so I’m going to be there and mingle with some people who share many similar views to my own. It should be quite an evening, especially since I’m dying to try another bowl of gator bites.

I’m also going back to the meetings that I used to attend with the writing group here in the city as well. I’ve been to a few here and there, but plan to attend more often and also contribute a lot more than I have been in the past. I like submitting something for them to look at and critque so I will start going back every third Tuesday for a little inspiration to keep writing this summer.

So that’s the plan for now. I’ll be back later today to post this week’s Monday school after I take Jonathan home. Until then, everyone have a great Monday and I’ll be around!

Peter

Log in to write a note
May 28, 2012

Sounds like a lot of good plans! Glad you guys are staying cool.

May 28, 2012

Ryn: got it fixed. Couldn’t log into battle.net because I have an authenticator. Which was the problem. Had to phone. All told I spent 5 hours on hold. But it’s fixed. 🙂