Paternal Leave: Day # 1

Early this morning, I wanted into HR (Human Resources) and broke the news to them with little or no notice. I went on Paternal leave and they were really good about it, but it wasn’t like they had a choice. After getting everything settled away and left the center, I went to the government building that handles EI (Employment Insurance) to handle the money I’ll be getting while on leave. It’s going to take a few weeks to get everything processed, but that’s all right, cause I’ve got some money stashed away and that will be enough to make do.

When I got back home to take over the household, Jonathan was napping so I made Ethan his lunch. We had some ready to serve Clam Chowder with toast, and some five alive mango flavored juice. Ethan loves Clam Chowder and ate most of what was in his bowl which is good cause I served him quite a bit. After that Ethan went down for his own nap and was out like a light for three hours. During that time Leah and I took turns taking our own naps cause Jonathan had woke up just after Ethan went down.

Leah left for her first day of work around 4pm and will be back home around midnight. I’m sure she’ll be very tired by then, but I could tell she was excited to get out of the house and back to work. That look on her face when she left made doing all this worth it… that and the look on the people’s face at the center when I walked out. I hope she does really well, but I have every confidence in her and am sure she’ll be just fine. About an hour after Leah left, I made Ethan his supper. Nothing special, just Mac & Cheese with a few hot dogs chopped into it. Ethan ate most of what he was served so I was happy with that… and later tongiht I’ll give him a small fruit cup before he goes to bed.

Do I miss the center? No at all, but one thing I am sure I’ll miss is the people I talked to all the time when I was in there. I still talk and hang out with a lot of them outside the center, so I won’t have to stay away from anyone for too long. My goal right now is to get something to carry Jonathan around in so that we can all get out of the house and do things. That way I can go to the gym, and let the boys hang out in daycare while I pump iron, or I can take the boys to the mall to hang out and get ice cream on a really warm day. Leah couldn’t get out too often with the boys cause she has a bad ankle that causes a lot of pain when she walks around too much. So if I can get something carry around Jonathan with, I’ll get Ethan out more often to the park and elsewhere, maybe out for a picnic or something.

I have ideas that I want to try to get the boys outside and since Leah works nights, she isn’t going to be left out as well. It’s been a good first day so far, and I’m going to do a littel cleaning up after the kids go down so that Leah comes home to a spotless home when it’s all said and done. I’ve got the DVR set to record her favorite shows so she won’t miss anything while working at her new job. So I’ll record the stuff and we’ll watch it together the next morning.

So I’ve got a decent plan, but putting into effect is the hard part. I’m going to do my best to make it work, but speaking of work… I’ve got to get back to the kids. Here’s hopeing everyone had a good Monday and I’m going to be around. Until then, take care…

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2006

Wow, you sound like an awesome husband and father. Your family is lucky to have you. Good Luck keeping the plan in place!

August 28, 2006

the only thing I really miss about work, besides the income, are the people, but like you said, you can see them outside of work, enjoy your time with the boys, and I hope Leah enjoys her new job

August 28, 2006

Whoa, you get PAID while you are off too? I think I am in the wrong country.

August 29, 2006

New England or Manhattan Clam Chowder? I prefer the latter, for the spicey tomato flavor. Also the cream and potatoes in the NE one is too much/heavy for me.

August 29, 2006

I’d just like to say that I love the Les Miserables reference in your name, as I just noticed that today.

September 9, 2006