Pope: all good people go to heaven, even atheists!

Consider my non-believing mind blown away.

During his homily at Wednesday Mass in Rome, Pope Francis rocked some Religious and Atheist minds today when he declared that everyone was redeemed through Jesus, including atheists.

Despite what others think (you must accept Jesus to get into heaven) Pope Francis has a different view: actions speak louder than words. If you act like a good person, then you are a good person. If you talk about Jesus all the time but act poorly, it’s clear you’re a faker and therefore are not a good person.

Francis must be making this up! Where would be get such a ridiculous idea?

“To do what is right and true is more pleasing to the Lord than an offering.” (Proverbs 21:3).

Where indeed.

As an outspoken Atheist, I couldn’t be more pleasantly surprised. Pope Francis is exceeding my expectations so far. Every time Eggs Benedict made a declaration, I winced.

I’m slowly changing my mind about this pope to a more positive impression than I might have imagined. I wonder if the cardinals knew what they were getting when they selected him… and how are his more zealous followers going to respond to this? Will be very interesting.

While Francis and I still disagree about a lot of his church’s policies, too numerous to list here, I am willing to admit that I am genuinely surprised by his very noble gesture. We may be thousands of miles apart, but that was still a step in the right direction.

Peter

Log in to write a note
YAH
May 22, 2013

It is easy for him to say that, no way to check his statements for truth. But it does seem to diminish the stranglehold of the church.

I like this pope.

May 23, 2013

I am glad he is attempting to live up to his namesake saint and his monastic sect. A very welcome change for the Papacy!

May 23, 2013

I at least appreciate the sentiment.

Tak
May 23, 2013

I am inclined to be skeptical. Sure it sounds nice but…am I the only one who finds this whole “everyone is redeemed, even atheists” as a nice way of dismissing others beliefs? I would prefer a message about living in peace in the here and now than some empty promise of redemption from imaginary crimes.