Rosencratz & Gildenstern Are Dead…

I’ve always been a huge fan of this Tom Stoppard play. I have a copy of the script on paperback that I’ve read several times, and the DVD of the movie starring Tim Roth and Gary Oldman. So, when I heard there was a production of the playing coming to Toronto in March, also staring Dominic Monaghan and Billy Boyd from the Lord Of The Rings movies as the two leads… I just had to check it out!

I managed to also talk my older brother into going with me, and even though he had never heard of the play before he agreed to since he really liked the two actors playing the leads. We bought our tickets in January and last night Chris and I went to see the show, and it was magnificent!

 …

Seeing this play performed in person was as amazing as I thought it would be.

While I’m tempted to try to go again later this month, once seems to be enough for me as there are other things coming down the pipe later this month/year that I want to do with the kids. I’m actually saving up to take Ethan to see my favorite musical in May, which is Les Miserables. I’m also take Kat and the girls to see Disney On Ice next week during the March Break. There’s also a Sammy Hagar concert in July that I’ve been eyeing for the summer, so I’ve got some good things to look forward to. 

Still, spending the day with my bro at a very cool play and dinner afterwards was quite nice. We don’t get to spend a lot of time together so days like that are often cherished and he really loved the play, which made me happy that I talked him into going. This is the kind of stuff that keeps me working, as I find it easier to get down to things when I have something cool to look and work towards. I have an easier time setting and making my goals when I have a small reward to enjoy when it’s all done. Now I’m going to get back to work right now instead of using my diary to procrastinate.

I hope everyone is doing well, and I’ll be around.

Cheers,
Peter

 

Log in to write a note