The Day Finally Arrives

Pet peeves are interesting. We all have them I’m sure. But I think generally we often misunderstand what they really are. What they are NOT are common irritants mislabeled as pet peeves – like the person in the passing lane driving much too slowly because he is obviously concentrating on his phone call more than his driving. That’s not a pet peeve; it’s a common irritant. Nobody likes it.

A pet peeve is unique – to us – or us and a very few others. They are unreasonable irritants to the majority. For an example, I have a friend and co-worker whose pet peeve is the cost of toilet paper. It bothers her that such a necessity costs so much when compared to other paper products. She reasons that the resources expended and process for manufacturing do not justify its (relatively) high cost. To her, it’s a conspiracy, and it bothers her whenever she thinks about it or purchases it. Not so much, the rest of us.

About twenty or so years ago, I discovered a pet peeve of my then 8 or 9 year-old daughter. As most parents of active children, I was often driving her to and from various activities or functions. One particular day an El Camino pulled along side us at a light. I guess it was the first she had ever seen…or noticed anyway…and she flat-ass went off on it.

“Dad, what is that all about? Is it a car or is it a truck? Why don’t they make up their mind? Who would buy one of those? Why would they want one? It is soooo stupid. yada, yada, yada…on and on and on…”

And so it has gone and continues to go to this day whenever she sights one of these classics, although that is not very often, nor was it then, but less and less frequently as the years go on of course.

The mere existance of the vehicle is her pet peeve.

I have had a plan ever since that first sighting. A plan for twenty or so years that I get to execute next Saturday, April 4th – the day my youngest child and only daughter marries.

It took months to locate and I almost ran out of time, but here is what I’ve arranged to meet the new bride and groom as they depart their reception to drive them to their hotel:

If I’m still alive, I’ll report back on how that went.

Log in to write a note

THAT is classic! Well done. I hope you titled it in her name so she will have to deal with it. Now, fill up that bed with diapers and baby toys!

March 27, 2009

^ Rented (with owner driving and he’s all about the joke too); I wouldn’t be caught dead in one. hehe

March 27, 2009

Is it a car? It is a pick-up? Who cares?!?!?1 It’s a friggin’ CLASSIC!!

my first hot boyfriend had one. orange and cream colored. it was the 60’s what can i say?

March 27, 2009

Wonderful!!! The best joke ever.

Mo
March 27, 2009

you are pure evil. i love it! she will too.

March 27, 2009

hahaha AWESOME! where is your daughter getting married?

March 27, 2009

OMG please let us know how you survive her agast! first real smile i had today! Thanks

March 27, 2009

Outstanding – picture of her face – please!

March 28, 2009

Best wedding joke EVER!! Love this!! You are da bomb!

March 28, 2009

The first one of those I ever saw (in Texas, of course) had the huge fins in back. I hope you’re still alive to tell the tale here later!

Where do you live in Louisiana? My friends live in Cut Off, in Lafourche Parish.

You are THE best, Batman! Your daughter won’t be able to kill you cuz she’ll be laughing too hard. Nicely done, as always! LWM 143

March 29, 2009

hahahaha

Too funny. If you survive this one, I’m sure the story will be more than worth reading, hon. Take care, keep in touch, and don’t you forget about me when you see that I459 sign while visiting prodial son. 😉

March 31, 2009

ryn: both houses are a shotgun. the sixth street one has more of a new orleans feel while the marigny one is very updated. decisions!!

March 31, 2009

LOL OMG!! YOU ROCK!!! we’ll of course, want to hear alllll about it!

March 31, 2009

no doubt a memorable send-off for daddy’s little girl.

April 1, 2009

This may be a dumb question but where will they sit? Up front with the driver? OMG!!!! Take care,

April 1, 2009

Oh NOOOO!!!!!!!!

April 1, 2009

Are you funning me? Do you really not know what a celiac is?

April 1, 2009

Such a smart ass. And no, it really doesn’t suck. I knowingly indulge on occasion to satisfy a craving. It just has to be worth the consequences. And the biggest reason it doesn’t suck is because it is the easiest thing in the world to keep my weight down. Sweet ride, btw!

April 1, 2009

Give up all gluten products (wheat, barley, and rye) for a week and see what happens. I dare you.

April 2, 2009

you are one sick puppy…are you going to tie cans to the bumper too? and have you picked out a burial plot?

April 2, 2009

I’d be dead if it were my daughter…maybe….we’ll have to ask the little ducky buddhist.

RYN: I still have little or no privacy to write around here anymore. Hopefully, that will change soon, as my husband is finally doing some part time work, and has been advised that Honda (his employer) is going to get their plant in Lincoln, AL up and running again some time in May. Keep ya’ fingers and toes crossed on that one. My savings account has taken a major beating this past year and a half. XO

April 7, 2009

LMAO!!!! You SUCK Dad! Yep – you truly were the “Billy Bob” of the wedding. Hmmmmmm now how can I use this fine parental example to fuel my own warped imaginative torture for my kids on their big day…. Assuming they ever get a social life.

Bwahahahaha! I notice it’s been a few days and no update yet. I hope your hospital room has a nice view! 🙂

April 8, 2009

Put her in the back and get a picture !!

April 17, 2009

ryn: THAT discussion can only take place in the French Quarter over several ice cold pitchers of beer. Deal?

April 29, 2009

You are a gem….

May 6, 2009

I’m dying to hear how this went!! DYING!!

March 27, 2013

You really did plan, didn’t you ? A girl has to watch what she says around you ! 🙂