Where I’ve Been

I was twice blessed in 2010 with the births of my first two grandchildren. A boy (Colton) and a girl (Liberty) born two months apart, although originally their due dates were only 17 days apart. The little girl decided to come early…far too early and nearly died along with her mother for the effort. She was 2.2 pounds at birth while the boy was nearly 10 pounds. I immediately dubbed them “Thumbelina” and “Andre the Giant.”

I was not sure if I was going to be a good grandfather. I thought I probably no longer had the patience required to spend very much time with these character-limited poop and pee machines. I mean…really…what did they have or do that I would find interesting? And furthermore, I was convinced I did not want to be like so many of my peers and co-workers who had become grandparents before me. To me, it seemed they cashed in what remained of their adult lives and doted far too much on these little care mongers. As they shoved picture after picture in my face and embarked on never-ending reports of progress, accomplishments, and downright angelic feats and appearances, I pretended to be interested and would bring out my best plastic smile and use the word “cute” far more often than God ever intended. And when each of these encounters finally ended, there came the mantra: “You just wait until you have your own. You’ll see.”

And they were all right. Being a grandfather is far more rewarding and entertaining than I could have ever imagined. As anticipated, a lot of the enjoyment comes from knowing I am not responsible for their maintenance and well being. Their parents must be concerned with food, clothing, shelter, education, discipline, moral and social development, and all else that is entailed in raising children. My sole job is to love them. And that’s easy.

They amaze me in ways I was totally unprepared for. Their world is simple now and they trust completely. They trust that all of their needs will be met. They trust that they will be fed and made comfortable. Bumps and bruises will be attended to even if that is no more than a kiss to “make it better.” How long ago was it that any of us felt such trust?

And then there is that innate sense of wonderment and fascination. How long ago was it that any of us shouted with joy at the mere sight of a farm animal (pick the breed – it doesn’t matter), or a big truck, or a cloud? Who knew mud puddles become tsunamis when feet applied?

And finally there is that offering of unconditional love. Every time I see either of my grandchildren, they announce my coming to all in the area. “Pops!” they proclaim loudly and point in my direction of my arrival as if to say, “Elvis is in the house!” Upon sighting me, they each run as fast as their stubby little legs can carry them with outstretched arms for me to pick them up and receive their tight hugs and sloppy kisses. How long ago was it that any of us felt such unconditional (human) love? Their parents (my children) feel one of the reasons they love me so is because it is so easy for me to put myself at their level and be so childlike (a trait my wife has accused me of for many years). I do enjoy developing little games that are only played between me and them. These games make me as special to them as they are to me and I suspect they may be my legacy.

I think I understand the cycle of life. In a few years, the teen years for sure, “Pops” will not have the status he has now and that is the way it should be. That is the way it must be. They must learn to integrate and live in the real world. They grow and they learn. Among all the wonderful things they will learn, sadly, they will also learn they cannot always trust. They will learn that all in the world is not always wonderful. They will learn they cannot always love unconditionally.

But, until that time…let me tell you what my grandchildren did today…

Log in to write a note

write this out and put it in your will. they’d love to know this one day when you and your superman suit are six feet under 🙂 oh, wait..i forgot..you’re passing it on, aren’t you?

January 27, 2012

This is beyond beautiful. Congratulations! 🙂

January 27, 2012

Lovely, lovely stuff. Cute (hehe) kids. Hey, um, do you think you could write more than once every couple of years? Really, you are missed.

January 27, 2012

“Andre” has your hair style!!!!

Best gig in town. I would have been born old had I known it was this much fun.

January 27, 2012

So glad to read this! I wondered how you’ve been. My daughter got married and they’re trying for babies, so I might be grandma next. Big hug and congratulations on being a grandpa!

For me, it is easier to engage in his world with all the wonder and joy and excitement because I am not concerned about screwing up his life the way I was about his mom (my kid). Definitely less pressure which makes it easier to just be with them and enjoy the world from that perspective. One of my favorite activities is watching him learn and figure out new ideas. Utterly amazing!

Wow, that’s a lot of shrimp.

Adorable! Haven’t you turned into the family man? Not a word about drinking whatsoever. Where is Phaedrus?

January 29, 2012

Wondering what happened to you. The tale was well worth waiting for. Ain’t it grand!

Mo
January 31, 2012

Yep, best thing in the world. I think that may be part of the reason I don’t write here as much anymore…I am sure everyone gets tired of hearing about my grandkids and that is pretty much my life now. Congrats on your two cuties!

February 14, 2012

DUDE, I completely blew it (read: procrastinated) and didn’t contact anyone I was supposed to! Anyway, we are so totally coming back as the spouse is now madly in love with the place. Also, I KNOW I read this and saw the pix, but I didn’t note?? (evidently, one of my many charms as of late). Those babies are precious. Oh, and the kiddos are pretty dang cute too. What? I adore SHRIMP. xo

these are totoally awesome pics! Love it! And it’s so nice to get to “see” you!! RYN: He said the eff word a lot in the dream. *gulps*

March 27, 2013

Gorgeous — all of it !! I never got over that unconditional love for my grandparents and I believe it was vice versa for them .. I don’t have any grandchildren and I don’t see them in my future but I wish I had them !