And no-one ever said thank you

I have finished my run of nights. They were pretty horrific really. The first night was apparently the busiest night the hospital has had in over 6 years now, and it was manic. When the shift started, there were 10 patients already waiting to be seen. It takes around an hour to see a patient and order all the tests and start treatment and stuff. There were 3 of us working and more patients coming in all the time. It didn’t slack off at all during the night. I literally did not have the time to use the toilet during my 14 hour shift, it was that busy, let alone stop to actually eat anything or just sit and gather my thoughts. I was so tired by the end of it i could barely string a sentence together. Plus the shift is only supposed to be 11 hours, but it wasnt possible to leave on time.

The other doctors i was working with kept joking "she wont come back again tomorrow after this, it’ll have scared her off too much."

The temptation to slit my wrists to avoid having to face it again was certainly there, but i persevered.

The next night was quieter, so there was time to go to the toilet when needed, but still no time to actually have a break at all. There was also a crash call, which was absolutely terrifying, but also exhilerating. I did CPR on a real person for the first time ever. Unfortunately they died.

However, this night ended kinda badly since i overheard the pharmicists talking on the morning ward round and saying that one of the drug charts was really sloppily done and was really poor work, and it was for my patient. Basically, the patient hadn’t known their drugs, i was seeing them about 4am so i didnt want to have to call a relative at that time to ask, so i had handed over to the morning team that they should ring to find out drugs asap, but i thought that not having the information instantly that night wasnt the end of the world. Apparently one of the many pieces of paper you get handed when you go to see a patient did actually say the drugs on it though, so they were saying what poor work it was and basically what a bad doctor it must have been, so that left me feeling really low. I had to wonder why i was bothering to bust my ass running round all night when i couldnt do anything right.

I also had a patient who kept going completely unresponsive, which was REALLY scary. I didnt really know what to do. Her heart was still beating, so there was no point doing the crash call thing, so in the end, i just kept going back and watching her every time she did it to make sure she came round again eventually.

The final night was again a continual stream of work for most of the night but not as crazy as the first night. However it all went wrong towards the end of the night around 6am when the crash call went off again, so i was off doing CPR again. Another bleep came through in the middle of that crash saying there was a patient on the ward having pleuritic chest pain (think heart attack or pulmonary embolus – both will kill you), and obviously all the doctors were busy on this crashing patient, so i was sent off on my own to see the patient, who i felt was indeed having a heart attack, so that was absolutely terrifying having to try to manage that on my own. And by the time i’d got someone else to take over that one (the crashing patient died in the end since they found she was DNR, so stopped), it meant that i had to finish clerking the patient i had originally been clerking when the crash call went off while the ward round was going on, and while trying to do the ward round jobs at the same time. So that all ended a bit stressfully.

So it was really tough. It was both better and worse than i thought it would be. One thing i will say though is that i got on really well with the other 2 doctors i was working with. There was a real sense of camarderie since we were all living the same hell, so it really did feel good to have the odd laugh with them, and we all became a bit delirious when the final shift was over and we could go home. It was really nice actually, and they were so nice to me at the end giving me really good feedback and saying that i had handled the busy night really well and done way more than they would have ever expected a house officer to do. So that felt really nice to get a little positive feedback.

I have developed the most godawful cold now to fill my days off with more miserableness. I was meant to be seeing my master today but for one reason and another it hasnt happened. I’m feeling a bit lonely. I’m kindof aware that i am in a new city, not knowing anyone, alone, with just work and my room. It’s easy to be so distracted when working that you dont even notice but today it just kinda hit me, where the hell am i and what am i doing?

I think i am actually pretty low, but the fact that i dont have the option to fall apart since i just have to keep going at work is masking that. So now i have a couple of days off, i’ve noticed that all i want to do is stay in my bed. I cant even bring myself to go downstairs. I know it’s probably partly because i’m tired, but i’m not stupid and i am also aware of the other reasons i get like that.

Another thing is, for a long while now, one of the things i’ve been telling myself when i get really low is that having spent so much time and effort training to be a doctor, i should really really hang on just until i get to actually BE a doctor, just so as it has been done. That got me through some very touch and go situations. But now, i have been a doctor. It’s been done. I’ve done an on call, i’ve done nights, i’ve done a crash call. So that isn’t something to hang on for anymore. Hopefully it wont become an issue anyway, but it is something i am aware of.

Log in to write a note
August 13, 2008

I’m so sorry that you feel that way. I’m sure all this is going to take a lot of adjustment and you will eventually find things that bring you pleasure and things will look up. Don’t worry about what the pharmacists were saying, you are brand new, everybody makes mistakes. I’m sure they have done some things when they first started that they would think are awful now. Be proud of yourself girl!!!

August 14, 2008

I think you should be really proud of what you have achieved. You’re just newly qualified and you’ve only just started in the hospital. Everyone makes mistakes now and then, especially when they’re new so it’s just something you’ve learned and you’ll know what to do the next time.

August 14, 2008

Sounds like you handled it really well! It sounds ridiculously stressful! Glad you got on well with the other doctors – they know what you’re going through. Some people are always ready to criticise (like those pharmacists) but they don’t have nearly as much on their shoulders as you. Well done girl, you should be proud of yourself! Hang in there and I hope you feel better very soon xx

August 14, 2008

it is actually very neat for me to get to read the diary of someone in your shoes, i mean yours here…because i am a clerk/unit secretary/monitor tech..and it is very neat to see from the other side…maybe i already said this to you…but seriously…i cannot imagine..and i commend you for sticking through and going on. – and dont let the pharmacist or whoevers comment get to you… one true

August 14, 2008

thing i have discovered about the hospital system is that it makes a lot of people bitter and hardened over. and you cannot learn without mistakes…not anything really. so keep trudging along. you are doing fine. -do you want to be a hospital MD is the end question? because you can always look forward to the less fast pace life you will be able to enjoy if you are a family practice of some sort.

August 15, 2008

Wel done you x

August 25, 2008

wow it sounds hectic…