08/21/2013

I woke up this morning when the ‘credits’ started to roll on my dream. I must have been almost awake because I thought (while still asleep) “this is odd! I’ve never had credits at the end of a dream! I guess the dream is over … I wonder if I’m sleeping in!”

I was sleeping in! I must have pressed ‘dismiss’ instead of ‘snooze’ on my phone (alarm clock), so I guess I wasn’t in a totally deep sleep.

It was a pretty strange feeling, though …

* * * * *

Here’s my facebook update last evening:

“I bought Moodie some treats at Rens Pet Depot the other day … unfortunately, she still prefers the special ‘treats’ she finds in the kitty litter! #gross #gladimnotadog #nokissesformoodie”

Lara’s comment: “What is with the hast tags?!”

Me: “Lara – using hashtags is proof that I understand and make proper use of social media! #iamcool

Lara: “Obviously not, as this is Facebook and not twitter!”

Me: “Ha! Shows what you know! #Facebook uses #hastags now!!”

Lara: “#DUMB”

Me: “I wonder if we’re trending yet!”

OMG. This made me laugh and laugh. Most of it happened this morning while I was at work (my phone gives notifications for Facebook). Needless to say, I shared this with everyone …

* * * * *

Lara was laid off from her high paying job. She said “I think I should be more upset than I am”.

She was expecting it … and she hated it so much that I think it was a relief.

She didn’t get everything paid off – she’s 2 years short from her plan -but she did get caught up and a bit a head. She has enough in the bank (not including her RRSP and TFSA) to get her through 2 months. They are going into busy season at hotels so she is very confident she’ll be able to get hired pretty quickly.

… in fact … she has an interview tomorrow at Long and McQuaid.

Not cooking. They are a music store. (Don’t forget, she has a music background!)

She told me she was thinking of taking a break from cooking for a while. It is such an ego driven industry and she keeps ending up working with bullies (think Gordon Ramsey! Some of them really do behave like that!)

I think this job is in sales, but she also has experience in instrument repair.

I’ve been in a couple Long and McQuaid stores. Their staff are usually interesting characters … musicians often are. Lara’s facial piercings and tattoos won’t warrant a second look.

Its too bad that both of her passions are low paying industries!

* * * * *

I saw a new job posted that I’m going to apply for. It sounds interesting, but I don’t think it would be enough money.

I know if I ever do leave, it will be perceived as pure betrayal by the boss and his ex. But, that would not be the case.

I just need a change.

I love my job, but I need a change.

… and some days I am overwhelmed by being put in the middle of boss and his ex’s relationship struggles. It is exhausting … and gets more and more difficult to compartmentalize.

(Her engagement has fallen through … she won’t be moving)

I wish they wouldn’t confide in me. There are things I, as a friend, just don’t want to know. There are things I, as an employee, just should not know.

* * * * *

I went for another cranial sacral treatment. It really is amazing how you can lay there for an hour and barely feel anything (my head is cradled and moved slowly and oh so slightly), but I come out with a much improved range of motion in my neck (noticed the most when I’m driving) and no discomfort in my shoulders.

I’m going to have to research a bit to figure out how it works … and what I can do to prolong the effect. It’s $85 an appointment and, of course, is not covered by my benefits.

* * * * *

I still love Rogue II.

Just thought I’d say that!

* I WISH YOU WELL! *

Log in to write a note
August 21, 2013

LMAO at dream credits. What’s next, dream commercials? Could you read any of the credits? Starring Pseudonym. . . as . . . Pseudonym! I liked your facebook conversation, though I have a friend whose statuses are always hashtag soup and it annoys me. Once I counted and she had 12 hashtag phrases in one status. Annoying! Glad your neck/shoulders are feeling better.

August 22, 2013

who does your neck treatments? and out up and do you have to have them? I find your dream’s credits funny! That is a new one to me.

August 25, 2013

Oh, I feel we’re running in parallel universes. I’d like to quit my job, but now that Boy is unemployed we need to help him out until he lands another. Full time yoga instructor and Lola’s mom, that’s what I want. Good luck with you job app.