09/29/2013

a couple questions:

* what size of annual pay increase is reasonable? Cost of living plus a bit if you’ve worked extra hard or performed exceptionally well or a standard percentage regardless of your performance …

* would you expect an acknowledgement on your tenth anniversary? What? A $$ bonus? A gold watch? A plaque? Extra vacation day(s)?

* * * * * *

My old laptop has been really struggling (read ‘not booting’). When William and Nao were here, they gave me Nao’s old Playbook tablet (she is getting a new one) so I was hoping I’d be able to get along with that. Some people love their tablets and seem to function pretty darn well without a complete laptop.

I am obviously not one of those people.

OMG. I hated it (don’t tell the kids … I’m sure I’ll use it for some little things) …

Actually, it has a Kobo app so I can read my e-books on there … and the display is actually better than on the Kobo! (don’t tell Lara that I prefer the Playbook more than my Kobo!)

So, after trying to live without a laptop for a week, I finally bit the bullet and got myself a new computer. Since my needs are very limited – I check my e-mail, I play on OD, I play on facebook, I look for new jobs, I do my banking, I get recipes (but there is an app on my playbook for that!) – I don’t need a particularly fancy laptop so got a new Lenovo 15.6″ for $349. That made me happy.

I am going to have to buy Microsoft Office once the 30-day trial period runs out. This is kind of annoying because I had TWO installations left from the last time I bought it but my walking friend used both of them when she opened her business. Her computer didn’t have word or excel (who can live without word or excel?) and then she had to get a new computer so used my software again … and *poof* … no more users allowed.

I’m slightly annoyed that I have to put the money out, but am consoling myself by believing the older version of MS office wouldn’t have worked on this new laptop. (If this is not the fact, please do NOT correct me. Ignorance is bliss).

This baby came with Windows 8. Which is pretty strange, but I’m starting to figure it out.

It also offers ‘skydive’ so I can start using ‘the cloud’ which, hopefully, when this laptop dies, will prevent the challenge I am currently experiencing – being unable to access anything on the hard drive of my old laptop. (yes. I should have had everything backed up. I didn’t. Even though I knew the damn thing was on it’s way out. I’m still hoping that it will start sometime today. Last time this happened, it took 7 hours, but it did start!) I need to figure out skydive.

Not today, though. I have a lot to do.

After being without a computer for the better part of a week, I’ve realized that I really don’t use it much (except to check my e-mail, visit OD, creep people on facebook (but I do that on my blackberry) and monitor things on Workopolis.

However, since getting this new laptop on Thursday (or was it Wednesday?) I’ve been wasting my evenings playing stupid games (hence the “I have a lot to do” reference above).

Yesterday I noticed that my wrist was really sore and today the ache extends up to my shoulder. I just realized that it is because of the mouse/games. I’m not really sitting in a premium position here.

So, this is good because hopefully it will prompt me to stop wasting my time playing games. I have to get back at my cross stitch. I haven’t worked on it since I rearranged the living room. The lighting isn’t great the way I have things set up, so I’ll have to figure that out.

* * * * * *

A few things going on at work (as always). Annoying. Actually, beyond annoying and moving towards ‘disturbing’. Things that I cannot share with anyone … not even here. Secrets. Things I wish I didn’t know … things that no one else knows …

I didn’t get a call for the other job. The more I thought about it, the less I expected one. I didn’t meet all their requirements, but I do believe I could have done it … just wouldn’t have gotten through their screening process.

* * * * * *

I went to visit Erin yesterday. She has had Moodie for a week and is keeping her until after Thanksgiving (Canadian Thanksgiving, that is!). She didn’t have enough food so I had to bring some (her food is only available at a few stores so Erin can’t get it where she lives).

We went for lunch in a lovely little touristy town near where Erin lives … walked the main street (that was just pacKed – it may have been the last beautiful Saturday before the fall weather really kicks in so a lot of people had the same idea).

I got Lara a Christmas gift – a string of lights in the shape of cupcakes! I need to keep Christmas kind of lean this year. I say that every year and don’t succeed … hopefully I’ll have more restraint this year.

Today I need to do my housework (refer back to the fact that I’ve been wasting too much time playing stupid games on my computer). I should also run out and find a new pair of black pants (we have the tradeshow next weekend) because otherwise I don’t think I’ll have time before Friday when I head to the city. I should also go to work for a few hours but fuck’em, I say. Boss really pissed me off last week. He doesn’t appreciate how hard everyone works and just demands more and more.

… oops … sidetracked … not going there …

* * * * * *

Sisters and I have booked our spa weekend (I call it a weekend, but it’s just one night). I love going to that place.

This may be the last year we can actually pull it off because Mary retired last year and her ‘hidden fund’ will be exhausted after this.

The visit to the spa costs us a bit over $400 … That’s overnight in a premium suite; one spa treatment and excellent food: afternoon tea (just after we check in), dinner, breakfast and lunch. (Excellent food makes me happy). Last year, there was a really rowdy group in the dining room at dinner … somehow kind of spoiled the ambiance. Hopefully that group has chosen a different date this year!

Speaking of Mary’s ‘hidden fund’, it was hidden by passing it to me.

After paying for her spa visit last year, I still ‘have’ $450 of her money. Unfortunately, I don’t really ‘have’ it and will have to grab the money off my LOC to give to her.

Anyway … once her ‘hidden fund’ is gone, she likely won’t be able to come with Maggie and me because she’ll have to admit to her husband how much it costs and she won’t be allowed to go.

Some days I am VERY happy that I am single!

I think Maggie and I will continue to visit the spa – we love it there – and we’ll have to think of something cheap (free) to do with Mary so that we can continue to have a weekend together.

Unfortunately, I suspect that will get more and more difficult. No matter what Maggie and I suggest as a chance for the three of us to get together, Mary says no or has a reason why she can’t.

Maggie and I are very close … and have similar personalities. Mary is very different: outgoing … always the centre of attention … hates quiet … can’t stand being alone. We’re okay when it’s the three of us, but I don’t think any of us really enjoy it when we are put into a different environment with other people (family or not).

So, this may be the last ‘siste

r’s of the heart retreat’.

* * * * *

I’m just trying to think if there is anything else to talk about. My life is pretty dull … but you already know that.

I’m really hungry so will go and make myself some breakfast.

* I WISH YOU WELL! *

Log in to write a note
September 29, 2013

Saw you on the front page. I LOVE Windows 8! It took a few weeks to really get comfortable with it, but now I like it a lot. What throws me off though, is that my work computer is Windows 7. =P Windows 7 is better than what it was a year ago – Windows XP!

September 29, 2013

not dull. more like ordered. quiet. reserved. but not dull. i suspect mary’s husband is a control freak. she may be experiencing emotional abuse too. there is nothing you can do except invite her often. the rest is up to her. been there. done that. and i will never marry again.

I’ve been at my job for 12 (almost 13) years. After year five we get a check each year called a milestone which is a dollar amount times the number of years you have been there. Raises? What are those? Our wages were frozen for something like 3 or 4 years and since we are paid on production when we do get them we just get 1% of our annual salary from the previous year paid in one lump sum.

October 3, 2013

On my tenth anniversary with my employer I got a lapel pin. Woo hoo!