just in time …

So, after spending the last couple weeks working on my resume and cover letter for that job, I had everything perfected so I could submit it today. That was the first thing on today’s to do list.

Unfortunately, my laptop had other ideas.

It would not start.

You know when you see rays of light streaming down through cracks in the clouds? I always told the kids it was heaven …

Well, it was the strangest thing. When the computer wouldn’t start, the screen I got was sky blue with a bright light at the top … and light rays coming down from the top to the bottom of the screen.

I figured this meant my computer had gone to heaven.

Stupid computer. Honestly … when it’s time comes, it will probably go the other direction …

I sat and stared at that screen in complete disbelief for 15 minutes.

Then it changed and said it was performing a diagnostic and, if possible, would repair the problem. It warned me this may take more than an hour.

I left it running and Moodie and I drove to the office so I could get my laptop … I had planned on going in today, but since I needed to monitor the situation at home, I could not until I knew what was going on with my computer. So, I brought it home with the intention to do what I could here.

Alas. That resulted in me accomplishing nothing because, for some reason, my login information wouldn`t work! I log in EVERY FRIGGEN DAY but the same password would not work today.

Today was not a good day for me and technology …

… SEVEN HOURS after they started, the repairs on my laptop were complete and I had access to my resume and cover letter again.

Just a couple keystrokes and buttons to push and I would be on my way to getting a new job.

ha.

My laptop is running, but not well.

After almost FOUR HOURS of trying, I finally got my e-mail sent.

With three hours to spare! Woot!

I`m not sure if the computer crapping out this morning was a sign that I shouldn`t apply … or if the computer starting to work again was a sign that I should … or if all the bullshit of the day was a sign that I wasn`t getting any real signs.

I did drive by the place this afternoon and `willed` myself into the job. We`ll see how that works.

* * * * *

Monday night TV is really crappy.

* * * * *

I`ve commissioned Lara to make a wedding cake for Will and Nao and to send it to me so I`ll have it when they arrive. Obviously she won`t be able to make it too intricate, but if it doesn`t have too many parts that can break off, it should work. I figure if she freezes it and then packs it with some dry ice, if she ships it overnight with a morning delivery, it should stay frozen and not fall apart en route.

My plan is to have the place decorated for when they get here … you know, streamers, signs, bells, flowers, wedding cake and presents! I`m going to pick up Erin before I got to the airport to get them … and then we`ll come home and celebrate their marriage!

We`ll see how that pans out. I make lots of plans … don`t always accomplish them.

* * * * *

Had a strange dream last night … whales swimming in the sky, people walking baby elephants on a leash. I would see something strange and ask the people around me if they could see it too. I knew the things I was seeing were impossible … so I was worried if I was loosing it.

I don`t remember if anyone answered that they could see the same things or not, but I woke up feeling pretty strange.

But, I tell you – a whale swimming in a cloudless blue sky looks pretty awesome!

* I WISH YOU WELL! *

Log in to write a note
September 3, 2013

i wish i remembered my dreams! good luck on the cake. and damn! i find electronics to be so frustrating! everything here has been turning on and off of its own accord today. phones laptops..wierd i tell ya.

September 3, 2013

You wonderful;awesome;super fantastic mom, that’s a brilliant idea! They’ll love it. Bravo!!! I think those signs do not reveal themselves as signs until the known. As if it is not for us act on assumptions, but to trust the process in the present, kopeech(?)or recognizable? I wonder if the Chinese have taken control of all our technical communications, doc’s hard drive crashed over the wknd. Ack!