08/31/2013

thanks to everyone for you input on my question <– last entry. As it turns out, I can't apply for the executive assistant job anyway … I was working on the application the other evening and read through the whole ad and noticed something I had missed before. The application period closed on August 26.

Can you imagine if I had applied to both the jobs? I’m sure they would have been incredibly impressed with me … “Hi. I’m a great potential employee for your company. Look how thorough I am … I’m applying for a job that is no longer available!”

duh.

I’m going to finish up the application for the remaining job before I go to bed (it closes on Tuesday, I double checked!). Keep your fingers crossed.

* * * * *

on to other news …

Lara is being pressured by her boyfriend to start applying for jobs ‘on camp’ again.

It really would have been a big help for the two of them if she had been able to stay up there for a couple years. Now she is back living at home with him, she has a full-time job lined up with a cupcake place and is looking for a part-time job for the dinner hour.

She still won’t make as much money and will be as very exhausted and stressed, but not to the extent that she would be if she had stayed working on camp.

Boyfriend is bugging her because of the drop in her pay.

He isn’t even considering how it affected her.

But, it was a pretty good gig for him while she was there. She was paying ALL the rent while she had the big income. Now he has to start paying his share again.

Otherwise, they split everything 50/50 … even though she has a huge student loan (he doesn’t because his father is a prof at the university where he studied and he lived at home, so no debt there).

She has her car payment and pays 100% for the insurance, even though he is listed as the primary driver.

She is really upset that he is putting so much pressure on her. She really can’t face going back to living like that – at least not without a decent break.

I suggested that she just do what she’s doing for now and (a) if they call her back (which it seems they have started doing with other people already …) she can make a decision then …

or (b) if, in a few months she feels like she can face that lifestyle again, she can start putting in applications to go back on camp.

I also suggested she set a less lofty goal … pay off the car, make a big dent in the student loan so there is hope it will one day be paid. Then she won’t be so overwhelmed with debt.

She doesn’t need to have a $50,000 down payment in the bank. Not at the toll it would take on her health.

I did NOT say “why don’t you tell your boyfriend to get a second job and see how he likes it!?”

How’s that for self control????

I sincerely hope that he is putting money away towards a down payment for a house too.

Lara is a very sweet and generous person who is always being taken advantage of. I sincerely hope her boyfriend isn’t doing that to her because she is very happy with him and they seem like a good match.

Knowing Lara, she would have been the one to suggest that she pay the full rent while she was making the money and that she pay the full car payment and insurance because it is her car, so I can’t really be annoyed at her boyfriend. (She doesn’t negotiate very well).

* * * * * *

I’m finding it too warm. I don’t think it’s as hot out today as it has been, but it does take a few days for the interior of my little house to cool off.

* * * * * *

Did I mention my new chair?

photobucket

It’s being delivered next Saturday. I am so excited! The stupid recliner is horribly uncomfortable … especially when I’m being cuddled by a dog and a cat …

photobucket

The new chair is actually a ‘chair and a half’ – the size of a loveseat. It is too big to go where the recliner is now, so I’m going to have to put the TV where the recliner is and the new ‘chair and a half’ where the TV is. I’ll need to get an extension for the cable cable because it is at its max where … and get some thingies to attach it to the baseboards so it isn’t laying loose (which it is now).

* * * * * *

Will and Nao are arriving on the 11th for a week. They have a wedding to go to, so it is a brief, busy visit. I’m happy that I’ll have a new loveseat for the lovebirds (I’m so funny).

* * * * * *

My laptop is overheating, and I’m already too warm so I’m going to close this up and go sit outside and see if I can cool off.

* I WISH YOU WELL! *

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2013

Good luck with the job app! I hope you get it! And I love your new chair, super cute!

August 31, 2013

crazy weather! glad you caught that deadline date! that is a huge whoopsie! may your new chair be more comfortable. that is what it is all about!

September 1, 2013

You and me are running in true parallel universes! Good job, mom NOT saying a word about BF. Honestly, I was thinking learned now Lara, and are you sure this is the one? Well, the job app solved itself. I wish you well with your app. Nice chair, looks comfy!

September 2, 2013

Love the new chair. Looks like a great size for animal cuddling! I found it hard to read about the situation with Lara, so I can only imagine how hard it was for you to listen. Good job holding your tongue!