My Song of Death (version 2)

The angels began
My Song of Death
Playing the violin
While I drift
Through space
Unknown to the existence of
My beginning and end

The end is near
I can feel it draw closer
Due to the inconsistent beats
Of my heart
I ponder
If anything really matters
For I am
Broken
Confused
Recombined
And thrown away
From the hive
I grew up in
All my life

As I drift through the abysmal darkness
I am reaching for
The Earth
But somewhere between
The Sun and Moon
I have fallen short of all my glory
I am just an aberration in your eyes
If only I could reach
A little farther
These feelings I bare
Would disappear into thin air

I finally realize
I’ve always been alone
Throughout my life
I was just too afraid to see
Through the illusion
I’ve hidden from
To distort the truth
Away from me

The angels witness
The stars recede
Into the heavens
Complete utter darkness
Consumes the emptiness
I’ve felt all my life

The violin
Stops momentarily
And I say:
“I finally realize
The Earth
Was never mine
I wish I had
A rose to smell
Just one last time
I wish I had
Another chance
To see right through
This lie
But
In a world full
Of hopes and wishes
I have to let go
Of the things
I can never control”

I never realized
How cold and alone
I was
Until the artic vacuum of space
Froze and crystalized my tears
And as I watch them
Float away
There was no one here
To take away
All this pain

My angels
Play the sweet sounds
Of the violin
Begin
MY SONG OF DEATH
Just one last time
AND TELL ME
HOW I END

Log in to write a note