A little discussion group might be forming…

 I know that with not putting much time into writing here I might be limited on readers and thus their opinions but here goes.

In this little town I’m in I am thinking of having a series of meetings or discussions that will center on religion and the differences or maybe that and the similarities.  I would also like to look at the alternatives to religion in people’s lives.

Do any of you have any ideas of questions, answers to those, formatting, or directions that this can go? I am thinking about maybe an hour or hour and a half. Maybe suggestions on order, history, date; any and all suggestions will be welcome and put into the now very flexible format!

 

Bee well; peace….dan

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2013

Are you back in Michigan?

August 18, 2013

it sounds a great idea and the time frame sounds ok too. Bear in mind however that some people might really get on a soapbox so I would suggest you limit people’s speaking time ( use a talking stick or something) or else set some clear ground rules before the discussion so as nobody gets offended or takes over. Its an ideal way for people to share and to investigate Truth for themselves….but I think its also valuable to include some of the holy books of major religions so as people keep out the dogma and focus on the truths. BTW: re your note: LOL….stay away from Vegas you naughty boy! lol hugs and smiles p

August 18, 2013

ps…encourage the diversity but always remind people they are there to learn an understanding about each other and the differing paths, which will bring a sense of unity within that diversity. (can you see my Baha’i leanings coming through??? *smiles*) hugs and love P

August 19, 2013

I love the idea but I am with Gypsy Spirit.. Set boundaries, have rules, a talking stick is a great idea. I have been trying to think of books I can recommend but most fall short of being unbiased and in others the speaker for a certain religion wins more on eloquence than truth in argument. I would love to see a good, honest, unbiased debate on the subject.. I also wish that people could see thatwe are all worshipping the same “entity”.. we are just doing it differently. Would love to attend one of your meetings!