More writings from a wayward friend…

  

Well, how about this.  I have been reading, writing and working on the hoophouses for a few months and really didn’t think about this site much.  I was reading on a weekly (weakly) basis however I did not do a lot of noting.

The other site-ok, FB, is fine for loosing myself in the world of make-believe but this site is where I come to pour my heart and mind out.

I have planted a bunch of trees here on the little farm. In the process of doing so I twisted or fatigued my lower back and spent months not being able to do much of anything.  Now this hasn’t ever happened to me and I really tried to get back on my feet.  Nothing seemed to work. 

My private nurse, former partner, was also proved to be less than in the compassion side of incapacitation.  It is good I found this part out as she was going to be the health and healing part of this farming operation! Hahahaha

The amount of work involved in creating a small farm, with alternative growing methods is almost overwhelming.  I am trying many methods that can be used by others so that I can teach the process and even allow visitors to come here and experiment in the execution of their experiments.

A short trip into Ontario, Canada left me breathless. They have some type of national or provincial program to increase the use of alternative energy sources. They had windmills-we do too, but then almost every farm and commercial site had a solar following photovoltaic system.  One after another, after another.  I smiled a lot.

I also noticed a couple differences in farm management. One was that most farmers took care of the grooming of the roadside in front of their farms. Even more than just the lawn area, going all the way to the neighbors, if there was one.

 

The next thing was the use of the buildings on the farm. Many just keep adding on to the old ones, they didn’t seem to be so eager to tear the old ones down. Around here I guess most farmers tried to get rid of the ‘old’ ways and put the newest buildings up as a way to show how big your bank account is! 

 

 

This just went over into the second page and I was hoping that I could hold this to one.

I might have to steal a friend’s way of doing this writing. She tends to write long and well early in the morning.  That could be a way to fit this into my schedule.

Bee well;peace….dan

 

Log in to write a note
August 10, 2013

Morning pages is a lovely thing. I am a writing fool – show me a blank computer screen and all I want to do is fill it. I personally hate over-mowing. I hate the waste of energy and increase in polution that comes from mowing roadside ditches or over-large yards. Good to have you back though. Write us a bunch more.

August 10, 2013

I see you around FB so much I hardy noticed that you hadn’t written here.. Sorry to hear your back and your nurse have been giving you a bad time.. Glad you are back up and running!

August 10, 2013

I do hope you can resolve things with your nurse and partner. And of course, that your back heals too. Time can help all of those things of course. Glad you`ve popped in!

August 10, 2013

It is good to learn some things about a partner. I hope your back is healing and you can get done all the things you want.

August 10, 2013

welcome back wayward friend!!! I see FB much the same way as you do. I’m not surprised about the back problem…..you are no spring chicken any more Dan….sorry to be so blunt! *smiles* I have to admit though, I am delighted to hear of the progress and achievements around the community garden…well done. Just take care, and don’t forget us here for so long next time. hugs p