2014

I have been thinking for a few days what goals I want to set for myself this year. Last year I just did not care at the beginning of the year due to the situation I was in at school – it has been getting better, so I want to work on getting myself to a better place as well.

I decided for this year I wanted to break my goals into three categories; I want to work on getting my body, mind, and spirit to healthy places.

As it stands here is where I am: I am overweight, I have hated myself my entire life pretty much, I have depression and tend to fall into it fairly easily, and while I am pretty happy with the life I have I am not happy with myself.

I am so good at compartmentalizing my life I can make that separation between happiness with myself and happiness with my life. I do not know if I should be worried that I can see the clear distinction between the two.

I also want to challenge myself – these may not be “goals” per say, but they are things I want to achieve and have an impact on my goals.

My Goals for 2014

Body
1. I will give up soda and sugary drinks

  • The only soda I will drink is a locally brewed Root Beer at my favorite pub when my boy and I go out
    2. I will eat healthier; less sugary, processed food
    3. I will try to start exercising in a manner that fits my schedule and does not damage me further
    4. I will try to fix my sleeping scheduleMind
    1. I will pay off my credit card again
  • In order to support this I won’t use it until it is paid off unless there is an emergency I cannot cover out of my bank account
    2. I will get my finances in order
  • I will attempt the ’52 week saving challenge’
    3. I will read 30 books this year (I put a GoodReads Widget at the bottom of this to track that)
    4. For those times when my mind will not let me sleep/function, I will keep a journal for the “rabbit trails” to get those thoughts outSpirit
    1. I will keep a “Happiness Jar”
  • Every day I will write down at least one small moment that brought joy
    2. I will start writing again, it may not be insightful or deep but I will write
    3. I will send out cards to family members for important dates (birthdays, births and anniversaries)Self Challenges for 2014

    1. I will work on keeping my spaces cleaner and more organized
    2. I will share more of my writing with people in “my real life” – life away from the computer

    These are all things I believe are attainable. These are short lists, but I will probably come back and add on to them as my brain wakes up more.

    2014 Reading Challenge

    2014 reading challenge

    Raven has
    read 0 books toward her goal of 30 books.

    hide

    0 of 30 (0%)

    view books

     

Log in to write a note