Going to lose it

Woke up at 7am yesterday and still awake.

I really did try to sleep last night, but the gnomes that live in my tummy revolted. Then the gnomes that live in Obie’s tummy revolted. Then I had panic attacks until my alarm went off at 5am.

Now it’s after 9pm, and I’ve hit the 38 hour mark of consciousness or lack of rest. There really might have been periods of unconsciousness last night in my attempts to sleep, but it sure does not feel like it. The kdis are damn lucky I was able to do anything today, and that I didn’t just lose it on some of them for just being ditzy.

I mean how hard is it?

Conversation in class today

Me: “We are going to read the information on the screen. Copy the information into your notes packet.”

Students”What are we suppose to do.”

Me: “See the notes on the screen? We are going to read it as a class. Copy the information into your packet.”

Student: “I don’t know what to do!”

Me: “Listen to what we read. See the notes on the screen? Copy into your packet.”

Student: “What are we suppose to write down.”

Me: “Copy the answers into your packet.”

Student: “What are we suppose to write?”

Me: “See the words on the screen? Copy them into your packet.”

Student: “What are we suppose to do?”

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

I shit you not people. This was my morning. AND they were not fucking with me. They were SERIOUS.

I mean, how the hell could I have simplified more other then just gave them the notes already filled out????

I better get sleep tonight or I will actually say “Are you fucking kidding me right now? What the hell is wrong with you?” to the kids tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
November 8, 2010

Sounds like my college Algebra class tonight. Teacher writes problem in words on overhead, then translates into the actual Algebra. Student: Where’d you get that 2? Teacher: See right there in the problem where it says 2?! Right there. Twice a week, we sit through this. It was so bad tonight, we couldn’t even finish the lesson. Can’t do the homework ’cause people can’t shut up. Argh.

Would that be such an unreasonable response? It’s a shame that in your line of work, it’s such a crime to tell someone they’re being stupid.

November 9, 2010