Talking with students

I had fun today talking with one of my students who used to do beauty pageants – she’s getting back into them. But it was weird seeing my wonderful articulate intelligent tom-boy child morph into fluffy airhead with a voice about an octave higher. It was great when she went back to “normal” – she is the kind of girl that gives the boys a run for their money in belching contests and knowledge of football and wrestling. She knows more about The Godfather than anyone I have ever met.

I think I might be terrified to see her for pageants, but she is a good actress – and when she saw my look of shock she laughed and told me she does the “etiquette pageants” – to which we both started laughing hysterically.

She is a wonderful person, still not sure I can deal with the Barbie girl version of her, but for some reason I think she was looking for support from someone who respects who she truly is as a whole person; and that lil’tom boy is one of the best people I have ever met. She’s going to give those plastic Barbies something to think about – or a fist to the face is they really get catty…..

So damn tired. Must sleep or die. Will play catch up later. This is all I can do for NoJoMo today.

Sleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep

Log in to write a note
November 5, 2010