Thoughts on Christmas

It’s been awhile since I wrote; only a week and a few things have happened that have reshaped my thoughts yet again.

Today is not Christmas, not to me. It was last weekend when I was too tired to function; when I spent two days running around with complete strangers handing out food boxes and supply bags to the homeless. That was Christmas – because that was real. We started off as strangers, and became family, and we did our best to change the world by changing our reality. Instead of sitting back and thinking how nice it would be to help others, we went out and did it. . . . So many amazing things happened a week ago . . .

Handing out food boxes, for the first time in my life I was called a “Good Christian.”

Our ‘fearless leader’ called the MPD to ask if they could tell us places where the homeless gathered – he was told “There are no homeless in Medford, we chased them off.

I watched a homeless young couple light up as Mary and I handed them bags with supplies in them. I saw so many faces light up, but I could not give a word to what I saw in those eyes . . .

Mary, Rich, and I gave a ride to a man who was in charge of opening up a gym at a church for anyone who needed a warm place to sleep. We had a wonderful comversation about the reason for Christmas, and about the unconditional love and dogs and ‘God.’

At the end of the say, we gathered together and shared our thoughts on the day. And a room full of people, fom 15 to over 50 shared our reflections on the day . . .

I heard a story that made me cry – Mr. B. and his family walked up to a homeless man sitting outside a local 7-11. He was sitting on a scap of a blanket that was soaked fom the rain; his head was down and when Mr. B said ‘Hello’ he looked up with surprize in his eyes. Mr B. smiled kindly (as he always does) and told him “We have something for you,” he starterd telling the man was was in the bag, and when he told him there was a blanket, his face lit up and he said “I have a blanket?”

What has stayed with me is we talked about Hope. . . That is what I saw in the eyes of those people, Hope.

So many people were surprized that we stoped to talk to them, let alone hand them something with no strings attached. . . One time, I was at an overpass, and I had my window down to hand some crash to a young man standing there – there was a car in front of me, and the driver was doing his best to see nothing but the road. The yougn man yelld “I am hear! Look at me!” . . . How many times have people drived by, have I drived by, and not made eye contact, have just stared at the road, and pretend someone is not there? Made them invisible . .

We gave hope to some of the invisible people, the people who aren’t there. . .

When did Christams become about the gifts and why is sitting in a bilding being told stories the focus of Christmas?

1) Christ was born in the fall, probably around August.
2) Christmas itself is a bastardized holiday, combining various Pagan traditions with the birth of Christ.

What happened to the message behind it?

Pace on Earth
Goodwill towards Man
Peace Hope Love

Last Monday, I met a man for the second time, Jeff (Converstaions in Passing). He made me laugh and we had a pleasent conversation while he was filling up my car, so I handed him a card, a pass along card, and tahnked him for making me laugh. He smiled, and handed one back. We continued talking for aobut 20 minutes, me sitting in my car at the pump and him dashing off at times to fill up other cars. He remebered me, asked if I still lived in Ashland, and where I got hired to teach. It was an amazing conversation.

We were talking about the holiday season, and about how so many people miss the point – and out of nowhere, he pointed at the church across the road (that has an overabundance of lights up for Christams) and said “That is the problem. What do they teach in there aside from fear, hatred, and ignorance except for two times a year, next weekend and Easter? What happened to the meaning behind the words? What happened to the message?” He hit the exact reason I call myself a Pagan.

He pointed out that if we don’t like our reailty, we need to change it – thus changing the world. . . .

Today is Christmas day. My family and I exchanged presents; the puppy got to shred the tissue paper. We had a champage brunch and are cooking some sort of dinner I can’t identify. . .

Today might be Christmas day, but last weekend was Christmas. . . those accomplishments, those feelings I am going to hold on to and share as much as I can.

Log in to write a note