Update

So after totally worryin myself sick this entire weekend, bein worried bout whether or not I’m gonna have a job come Mon mornin, I finally got some sleep Sun nite.

I woke up a little earlier then normal. I figured that the best time (only time) to talk to my boss bout what happened on Sat was to do it before anyone else in the office showed up. And that he would most likely be in a little earlier then normal as well. I got to the office bout 30 min early, and my boss was here. I came in, sat at my desk and waited fer him to come out of the back room. When he did I said Good Mornin and asked if we could talk. He said yes and came and sat at my desk.  He let me begin, and I told him that I wanted to stay. That I thought bout it all weekend, and I don’t want to leave. At this point, he went into a long lecture (like he does) bout what was goin on. I found out that the person that he had talked to was not a customer. She is a woman that is involved with her kids school/activites with my boss, his wife, and their kids. She had come in on Fri, and I recognized her so I (in my cheery disposition like I always do when people come in the door) let her know that Randall and Beth weren’t here at the moment, but that they would be back shortly. She said no problem and that she was just droppin off her son and would have him sit in the back to wait fer them. No big deal, or so I thought. Somehow she thought that I had an attitude. I didn’t argue bout it, as my boss is gonna believe her over me anyway so it’s pointless.  But fer the most part, everythin that I thought bout this weekend bout what might have caused this (generally my "tone of voice") I was dead on.

He said that maybe he mislead me when he gave me the raise. That my "operations" is excellent. He can give me somethin to do and know without a doubt that it will be done correctly and efficiently. But other then that, he didn’t so much as say it, but basically implied that I don’t do anythin else right. He said that he wants people to feel "warm & fuzzy" when they come into our office. And that I don’t give off that feelin. And since I sit at one of the front desks, I should. He doesn’t want to have to come to me every 2 weeks and have this talk with me.

I told him that after I thought bout it, that I was perty sure what the issue was. I suggested that from now on, when an irate customer calls, I politely put them on hold, take a few moments to calm myself down, or give the call to him. He said ok. And went among our jobs after that.

Now, here’s MY issue with this. I know I have my problems, and I have no one to blame but myself. And I know I seriously need to work on this. But I have a problem with how this was handled on a couple different levels.

First off: I DON’T CARE HOW MUCH HE WANTED TO HELP ME OUT OR WARN ME. He wants to be proffessional? Callin an employee on a weekend, over the phone, and hintin at firin them is NOT proffessional. Do I appreciate it? Yes, but do I agree with it, no. Take the weekend, either calm down or get more upset, whichever works, and discuss it on Mon. My weekend is my weekend, same as yers. Just because you choose to work on the weekend doesn’t mean I do.

Second: HE MISLEAD ME?!?!?!?! WTF????? If memory serves and it serves well (specially when it’s on somethin I did well lol), he told me at my review, and twice since then, that I DESERVE this raise. That I go "above and beyond" what most other CSRs would do. And now he tells me I that only my "operations" is my best quality? Can we say contradiction? Does that make sense to you? Cuz it sure as hell doesn’t make sense to me.

Third: PRIVACY!!!! This is a SERIOUS issue. One that screams private office conversation. Don’t come sit at my desk and have this conversation there. Take me into YOUR office, or a private area where no one can just walk in at any moment. This is no one’s business. This is between you and me. Not me and the whole damn office!! Again, that goes back to the "professional" issue.

Now onto everyone’s reactions. I didn’t tell alot of people. I didn’t think it was neccessary yet. I wasn’t sure the outcome so I kept it to myself. Of course other then bloggin bout it here. But anyways, at that point, the only people that knew were my mom, brother, bf, and 2 good friends of mine. Every single person, with the exception of 1 of the friends, was like WTF? That is wrong. Yes, you need to work on this issue, but this is comin out of no where. Totally Left Field. Somethin else is up here.

The one person I could count on to be brutally honest with me, lived up to my expectations. She was the one that hinted at, that no matter how much I disagreed with my boss callin on a weekend and dumpin this on me, that he was most likely givin me the opportunity to save my ass. She "advised" me on what to say when I got to the office on Mon. She said that just "realizin" what the issue was, wasn’t good enoough. That I needed to work my ass off to fix it. That I can’t afford to be out of a job. She reminded me of how long it took fer me to get this job in the first place. She cut me NO SLACK on bustin my ass bout what I should be doin and how to handle this. And as much as I hated hearin it, I needed to. Yes, I needed people to "cry" to and be upset with at how my boss handled this and how scered I was a t losin  my job. But I also needed someone to be the "devil’s advocate" per say.

Now, my brother and mother (and a few other friends) have said that I should get my resume in order and, without lettin on here at work, start lookin fer another job. I talked to an Office Manager at a Farmers office close to my house a few months ago. She had asked me at that time if I knew of any Licensed CSR’s lookin for work, that they were lookin to hire. Mom suggested I call them and see if they are still lookin. If they are, and requirements are met, give my notice here and go from there.

At this point, I am not sure what to do. I am grateful that I still have my job, but I am still really upset at how everythin was handled. How my boss has basically, in a period of 2 months, completely changed his evaluation of what I do here. I don’t know what to do, let alone what to think now. Should I try and find another job? Or should I stay here?

Log in to write a note