FebMusMo12

Though not my favorite duet, I could not for the life of me find my favorite, this one is probably still in my top five. Again, my parents are to "blame" for my love of this artist. My parents are both neo-hippie, hard rockers with the majority of the bands they listened to and exposed me to were the likes of Blue Oyster Cult, Starz, Riot (not Quiet Riot), Steppenwolf, David Bowie, T. Rex, et al. However, this artist is one that they listened to regularly and really formed what I consider to be good country folk music. This song is not his best, nor the best duet he’s done (I believe that honor goes to Angel from Montgomery),  It does however somewhat embody what he as an artist is–real.  He doesn’t pretend not to be human, or to be more than he is.  His live shows are part storytelling and part concert.  So, I give you John Prine (featuring Iris DeMent) "In Spite of Ourselves."

–RK

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2010

RYNRMN: (1) There is no earthly reason I can think of why you should know about an obscure pop singer from the 1950s. Reserve your research efforts for important stuff. (2) ItÂ’s important to remember that for most of human history, only a small minority of the populace was educated in any meaningful way. Millions of American girls have read the Twilight series. Even though the books are wretchedlywritten, all those girls ARE reading and thinking about the content. In, say, 1400, girls were not even taught to read, and only aristocrats could afford books; most people were illiterate. WhatÂ’s frustrating today is that there is such a vast OPPORTUNITY to read and think and know, and so many people ignore that opportunity.

February 12, 2010

RYN: I agree with you to some extent. Yes, there is racial profiling. Yes, gay-bashers do exist among us. I know this…but our country has LAWS against these things. I am proud to live in America, where I can walk down the street without fear that a soldier is going to kidnap me and rape me. I’m not in fear for my life constantly like the women in Darfur. Americans educate the people…

February 12, 2010

of our nation so that such things such as those that you mentioned will become obsolete. I’d rather live in a nation where I’m not terrorized on a day to day basis. Where there are people fighting for what’s right and seeking justice against those that commit evil. I don’t know why you came to my diary with your negativity, overlooking the entire point of the entry. What was your purpose?

February 12, 2010

Because you obviously have a bone to pick. I’m not going to sit here and whine about how sh*tty America is because, let’s be honest here, it’s a whole hell of a lot better than some other places around the world. Not sure if you know that or not…

February 12, 2010

Would you like to donate a butterfly? You know, to represent the lives of the 1.5 million children that perished in the Jewish Holocaust. Also, our president is BLACK. Obviously our country isn’t as “racist” as you think. I’m quite offended that you think we have such problems comparible to 3rd world countries…places that practice female genital mutilation and treat women like animals…

February 12, 2010

Or how about the countries where practicing christianity is punishable BY DEATH? America is a melting pot of cultures and religions. Most of us embrace that. I’d like to see you go over to Iraq and preach the gospel and see what happens to you. If you think America is so bad then go somewhere else. Honestly, I think you’re just talking out of your *ss b/c you sound incredibly ignorant 🙂

February 12, 2010

RYN: My God, this is just going to be one viciously annoying and redundant cycle, huh? I wasn’t bothered by anything you said, afterall, I enjoy a good debate. However, I think you need to be a little less condescending and try not to contradict yourself so much…makes for a more well-rounded individual 😀