I’m a professional writer

I’m now a professional writer! In a way.

The local authority where I worked went through yet another restructure in December 2015 and this time I was a casualty – my job was made redundant and I became gainlessly unemployed early in 2016.

I didn’t stay unemployed for long. I worked for a teacher supply agency for a while which was fine, but the work was just not regular enough. I then did social research interviewing which was fascinating, especially the cognitive testing of children, but had the potential to get pretty boring pretty quickly.  I also volunteered for one evening a week at a Young Carers club, partly to keep ‘in the loop’ with youth work.

Meanwhile I was applying for other jobs and applied for one with the charity that runs the Young Carer youth club. I didn’t get the job I applied for (although I was shortlisted and interviewed) but the CEO later phoned me and suggested we meet for coffee as he had an idea.

Free coffee was the clincher. I agreed to meet him for coffee in a town half way between their head office and my home town. Over Starbucks he offered me the job of Funding Manager – in short, making relationships with grant giving organisations, writing funding and tender bids, overseeing the monitoring reports and all associated tasks. He saw ‘something’ in my application form and liked that I had a Plain English diploma.

I accepted with trepidation; I had never written a serious funding bid. We shook hands over our coffee cups and voila! I had a new job. I still have that job and I love it. Words about outcomes and benefits flow onto my screen and I’m getting paid to write them! That makes me a professional writer, yes?

Log in to write a note
February 26, 2018

Yes

February 27, 2018

I did chuckle at your definition of a professional writer, my guess is thats not how HR sees your job… but I do think this is a great opportunity for you! fund raising is a huge thing… you will never be without a job again.

February 27, 2018

“I still have that job and I love it.”

That is an incredible enviable state of affairs.

March 11, 2018

You’re not a professional writer until you’ve worked your way through the Yellow Pages looking for a bookshop which has a copy of a book you’ve written. Good old Yellow Pages.

(Congrats, sounds great)

 

Glad to see you’re still here. It looks like I was right at the end of the list of “people to tell that OD is back” when they scheduled their email campaign!

April 3, 2018

Hiya!  We’re baaaaaaack!!!!

April 9, 2018

@icklewriter I know… great isn’t it?

I tried to read your diary by clicking on your name and it told me I don’t have access to that page.  Please can you let me in? 🙂

April 10, 2018

Hiya

I haven’t blocked anyone out and my diary was always friends only, so you should be able to read me.  I have absolutely no idea how to work things here, and don’t know how to open the diary up in any case.  Looks like we’re a bit stuck for now!