I’m so OLD!

I’ve just read this on a website that I visit regularly: “Please let us know in the comments section below, on our Facebook page, Tweet us, or just old-fashioned-email us”.

Since when did email become the old-fashioned way? I still write letters, send cards and even telephone people. I guess that makes me plain antedeluvian.

And to make matters worse, I have now officially got arthritis; luckily not badly. When I told son, he just said, “Everyone gets it at a certain age”.

This triggered a memory of when my daughter was in infants school; she must have been about six. Her school was having a Victorian Day with dress-ups and typical food of the time. With child-like innocence she asked me “What was it really like living in Victorian times?”.

I shall now make an old-fashioned phone call to book my place in the knacker’s yard.

Image result for old lady icon

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2018

I would sharpen my quill, get some parchment, and pen an angry letter (in cursive) to that website!

May 22, 2018

It’s funny, email is actually kinda dying out. The only reason a lot of younger people even have an email address is so they can register on sites/apps that they use instead of email. I got home from work yesterday and realised I hadn’t checked my email all day (and I work for a software company). I had received nothing of importance. Everything is about the real-time communication these days.

May 23, 2018

@mrroflcopter Yep, I do understand that, but I also wonder how well work can be prioritised when a job involves a lot of communication. Would important and maybe urgent tasks get put back because the immediacy of IMs grabs the worker’s attention and therefore gets responded to first?

May 23, 2018

@roofonfire Yep, totally. It’s easy to file an email for responding to later on. Less so with someone who is (virtually) standing behind your desk demanding your attention. That said, I *much* prefer the real-time comms. Deciding things by committee via email is so much slower than via a real-time conversation in either text or person. I don’t miss my old email-centric job.

June 2, 2018

I love the instant communication of texts—but sometimes I have more words that I want to say. I also just can’t always do the shortcuts and abbreviations….it just feels wrong. And I still care about punctuation and spelling. And grammar.

So yes, I am ancient right along with you!

:)xo

August 5, 2020

Where did you go? Come back, we miss you!